Skip to main content

Burke Memorial Library: Library COVID-19 Update

Library Service and Support during Campus Closure

Library Services and Support
At Burke Library we are pleased to offer remote support to our Spring Hill College family while our students are away and staff and faculty work from home. 

The Burke Library building will be closed during the break and re-open Monday, April 13th. Online assistance during this time will be available 9am-5pm Mon-Fri through email, the library’s website at library.shc.edu, and text at 251-267-8877. 

The Wilkins Lab will remain open 24/7 and can be accessed through Einstein’s with an SHC ID. The lab has 36 computers and two printers.

Checked out Library materials & Checked out Interlibrary Loans

Library books and Interlibrary loan books should be returned in the Bookdrop outside the front doors of the library.  Emails received about overdue materials are automated and can not be changed; Late fines will not be charged. If you have questions or need to contact us about returning books, please text 251-267-8877, or use the Ask Burke chat feature on the library’s website, library.shc.edu.

Faculty Resources

For faculty preparing online instruction, please consider links to the Library WebpageSpirit of Inquiry Help Page, and Off Campus Access to Library Resources in your Schoology courses.  Contact Maura Mandyck at mmandyck@shc.edu if you need assistance.

Interlibrary Loan

Until further notice, inter-library loan service will be limited to materials that can be delivered electronically, mainly articles. For book requests, determine the chapter or page range (25 pp. maximum) needed and complete the ILL book chapter request form. Be aware that inter-library loan service is disrupted nationwide and is likely to be slower during this time. Students who are working on senior seminar projects or other substantial research should contact a librarian for assistance with ILL or with alternate resources.

Contact Us

Contact us for whatever you need by the emails listed below, text at 251-267-8877, or through the Ask Burke button on the library’s webpage. 

Lakittreal Campbell, Circulation, lcampbell@shc.edu

William Konrad, Circulation, wkonrad@shc.edu

Annette Heim, Librarian to Education, aheim@shc.edu

Bret Heim, Instructional Librarian, Gov Docs and ILL, heim@shc.edu

Lauren Jensen, Digital Services Librarian, ljensen@shc.edu

Maura Mandyck, Instructional Librarian, mmandyck@shc.edu

Janie Mathews, Technical Services Librarian, jmathews@shc.edu