LibGuides: Education: EDU 322 Educational Tests and Measurements

EDU 322 Educational Tests and Measurements

The development, administration, evaluation, and interpretation of educational assessment, including creating plans that integrate teaching and assessment; designing objective, performance, and portfolio assessments; evaluating students and discussing evaluations with parents; and interpreting standardized tests.

Finding Tests and Test Reviews

DATABASES

In the ERIC databases, the name of a specific test can be searched. For general information, use ERIC descriptors such as: Achievement tests, Intelligence tests, Test reviews, Standardized tests, Educational assessment, Test construction, Test interpretation.

ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database, provided by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.

PRINT BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY

Mental Measurements Yearbook by Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Call Number: LB3051 .M4 Newest editions in Burke Library REFERENCE, previous in STACKS
Evaluative information to promote and encourage informed test selection. Test entries include descriptive information, two professional reviews, and reviewer references.
Tests in Print VI by Linda L. Murphy (Editor); James C. Impara (Editor); Barbara S. Plake (Editor); Buros Institute Staff
Call Number: LB3051 .T4 2002
ISBN: 9780910674560
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Lists all commercially available English language tests in print. Although these volumes are useful in and of themselves, their maximum usefulness requires the availability and use of the Mental Measurements Yearbooks.

LINKS TO TEST REVIEWS

Test Reviews Online
Lists of tests only, alphabetically and by category. Indicates which print volume of Mental Measurements Yearbook publishes the test review.
TestLink, the Test Collection at ETS
Information on standardized tests and research instruments, including non-commercially available instruments.

EDUCATION LIBRARY TEST COLLECTION

Print copies of educational tests. Includes Nelson-Denney Reading Test, Peabody Picture Vocabulary Test III , KeyMath Revised , Vineland SEEC Social-Emotional Early Childhood Scales, Developmental Test of Visual Perception: DTVP-2 (1993), Learning and Study Strategies Inventory :LASSI, Piagetian attainment kit.

eBooks

Next Generation Assessment by Linda Darling-Hammond
ISBN: 9781118928134
Publication Date: 2014-07-16
Next Generation Assessment: Moving Beyond the Bubble Test to Support 21st Century Learning provides needed answers to the nation's growing concerns about educational testing in America.
Tests That Teach by Karen Tankersley
ISBN: 9781416606604
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Provides sample multiple-choice and constructed-response questions from the tests; Offers guidelines on how to create daily lessons that encourage students to practice the skills and demonstrate the knowledge they'll need to use on the high-stakes tests; Suggests word lists, games, discussion topics, and testing ideas for your classroom; and Describes how school staff can create a learning community that fosters collaboration among teachers and high performance in students. Also included are a wealth of online resources for lesson plans, daily classroom activities, and virtual field trips, as well as links to every state's released materials on its own assessment
Knowing What Students Know by James W. Pellegrino (Editor); Naomi Chudowsky (Editor); Robert Glaser (Editor); Board on Testing and Assessment Staff; Center for Education Staff; Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education Staff; National Research Council Staff; Foundations of Assessment Staff
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0309512387
Publication Date: 2001-09-27
Education is a hot topic. From the stage of presidential debates to tonight's dinner table, it is an issue that most Americans are deeply concerned about. While there are many strategies for improving the educational process, we need a way to find out what works and what doesn't work as well. Educational assessment seeks to determine just how well students are learning and is an integral part of our quest for improved education. The nation is pinning greater expectations on educational assessment than ever before.

Educational tests and measurements United States Design and construction
Sample catalog search for books & articles by subjecting heading