Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
Off Campus Access
To use a library database off campus, select a database link from the list. If you are off campus, a window will pop up asking you to enter your SHC username and password, which is the same ones you use to log into BadgerWeb. Once logged in, you can use the databases as if you were on campus.
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.
Ebook Central is a search ebook platform that allows you to read ebooks and chapters of ebooks. You can read online, search within the ebook and create a personalized bookshelf of your titles.
Over 22,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group. Broad subject areas include: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Communication, Criminal Justice & Law, Education, English, History, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technology & Society, and World Languages.
Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Contains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times, Le Monde. Updated daily.
Gale In Context's Opposing Viewpoints supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
The PsycINFO database, provided by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
SocINDEX is a sociology research database that database features more than 2.1 million records. There are over 1,300 core journals with coverage from 1895 - present.
Alternate Name(s):Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Open Society Justice Initiative
LGBTQ+ Rights
Comprised of five collections, the Social Justice Suite from HeinOnline provides content central to the idea of citizenship.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law: Research the history of slavery in America and the world while discovering a multitude of essential legal and historical materials relating to the institution of slavery.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: Hundreds of titles that analyze the controversial topic of gun regulation in America, including periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Civil Rights and Social Justice: Study the expansion of civil rights in America through government publications, legislation, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
Open Society Justice Initiative: Reports, handbooks, briefing papers, and more exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
LGBTQ+ Rights: A collection of materials relating to the gay rights movement in America, including an interactive timeline, as well as subject-coded court cases, scholarly articles, books, pamphlets, reports, and more.
