Skip to main content

Burke Memorial Library Blog

May Database of the Month: PsycINFO

by Lauren Jensen on 2019-05-01T08:18:00-05:00 in Psychology | Comments

Our featured database for the month of May is PsycINFO, from EBSCO.  The PsycINFO database, with content provided by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Image of a brain

According to EBSCO, the database's features include:

 
  • "Weekly updates
  • Nearly 4 million bibliographic records
  • Indexing of more than 2,500 journals, 99% of which are peer-reviewed
  • Coverage dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
  • Authored and edited books and book chapters
  • Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
  • Publications from more than 50 countries
  • Journals published in 29 languages"

If you have used the database before, you might not be aware of some of the search features available.  Complex searching, browsing the thesaurus, and becoming familiar with the index terms will greatly enhance your ability to search the database.  Check out the documentation:

Find the database in Burke Library's Collection:

  • Subscription
Popular
The PsycINFO database, provided by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with DOIs for over 1.4 million records. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
 

 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...