MTH 423: Cryptography

Cryptology, the art and science of 'secret writing', provides ideal methods to solve the problems of transmitting information secretly and securely. The first half of this book studies and analyzes classical cryptosystems. The second half looks at the exciting new directions of public-key cryptology. The book is fun to read, and the author presents the material clearly and simply. Many exercises and references accompany each chapter.

Cryptography is the practice and study of hiding information. Modern cryptography intersects the disciplines of mathematics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Applications of cryptography include ATM cards, computer passwords, and electrical commerce. In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the protocols, design and application of cryptography. Topics discussed include quantum cryptography protocols and quantum security; visual cryptography for halftone images; mathematical cryptography of the RSA cryptosystem; multi-layer QKD protocol using correlated photon of dark soliton array in a wavelength router and low-cost mutual authentication protocols.

Algebra and number theory have always been counted among the most beautiful and fundamental mathematical areas with deep proofs and elegant results. However, for a long time they were not considered of any substantial importance for real-life applications. This has dramatically changed with the appearance of new topics such as modern cryptography, coding theory, and wireless communication. Nowadays we find applications of algebra and number theory frequently in our daily life. We mention security and error detection for internet banking, check digit systems and the bar code, GPS and radar systems, pricing options at a stock market, and noise suppression on mobile phones as most common examples. This book collects the results of the workshops "Applications of algebraic curves" and "Applications of finite fields" of the RICAM Special Semester 2013. These workshops brought together the most prominent researchers in the area of finite fields and their applications around the world. They address old and new problems on curves and other aspects of finite fields, with emphasis on their diverse applications to many areas of pure and applied mathematics.

The idea behind this book is to provide the mathematical foundations for assessing modern developments in the Information Age. It deepens and complements the basic concepts, but it also considers instructive and more advanced topics. The treatise starts with a general chapter on algebraic structures; this part provides all the necessary knowledge for the rest of the book. The next chapter gives a concise overview of cryptography. Chapter 3 on number theoretic algorithms is important for developping cryptosystems, Chapter 4 presents the deterministic primality test of Agrawal, Kayal, and Saxena. The account to elliptic curves again focuses on cryptographic applications and algorithms. With combinatorics on words and automata theory, the reader is introduced to two areas of theoretical computer science where semigroups play a fundamental role.The last chapter is devoted to combinatorial group theory and its connections to automata. Contents: Algebraic structures Cryptography Number theoretic algorithms Polynomial time primality test Elliptic curves Combinatorics on words Automata Discrete infinite groups

Bent Functions: Results and Applications to Cryptography offers a unique survey of the objects of discrete mathematics known as Boolean bent functions. As these maximal, nonlinear Boolean functions and their generalizations have many theoretical and practical applications in combinatorics, coding theory, and cryptography, the text provides a detailed survey of their main results, presenting a systematic overview of their generalizations and applications, and considering open problems in classification and systematization of bent functions. The text is appropriate for novices and advanced researchers, discussing proofs of several results, including the automorphism group of bent functions, the lower bound for the number of bent functions, and more. Provides a detailed survey of bent functions and their main results, presenting a systematic overview of their generalizations and applications Presents a systematic and detailed survey of hundreds of results in the area of highly nonlinear Boolean functions in cryptography Appropriate coverage for students from advanced specialists in cryptography, mathematics, and creators of ciphers

This book contains the proceedings of the NATO-Russia Advanced Study Institute (ASI) 'Boolean Functions in Cryptology and Information Security', which was held at September 8-18, 2007 in Zvenigorod, Moscow region, Russia. These proceedings consist of three parts. The first part contains survey lectures on various areas of Boolean function theory that are of primary importance for cryptology. These lectures were delivered by leading researchers from many countries and contain both classic and recent results. The second part contains research papers written by graduate and postgraduate students of Lomonosov University, Moscow. The third part contains a list of open problems in Boolean function theory. The book includes lectures and papers concern the following areas: Cryptographic properties of Boolean functions and mappings; Algebraic and combinatorial constructions of Boolean functions and mappings with prescribed cryptographic properties; Boolean functions and mappings in cryptosynthesis; Classification of Boolean functions; Cryptanalysis of ciphers; Efficient computations in finite fields.

Historical perspective is included and emphasis is given to some of the subject's applied aspects; in particular the field of cryptography is highlighted. At the heart of the book are the major number theoretic accomplishments of Euclid, Fermat, Gauss, Legendre, and Euler, and to fully illustrate the properties of numbers and concepts developed in the text, a wealth of exercises have been included.