Skip to Main Content

HIS 120 Abolition & Antislavery Movements

Includes Slavery & the Bible

People & Groups

Frederick Douglass, Writings, Speeches (EBooks, Full Text, OER)
William Lloyd Garrison, Writings, Speeches, etc.
Dred Scott
John Brown, Raid on Harper's Ferry (EBooks, Full Text, OER)
Raid on Harper's Ferry Pamphlets
From the James Birney Collection, Johns Hopkins University.
Haitian Revolution (Toussaint L’Ouverture)
In Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World, ed. Junius Rodriguez. Routledge, 2007.

Abolitionists
Search also on names of individual abolitionists
Free Persons of Color
Free Soil Party

Anti-Slavery Societies (EBooks, Full Text, OER)

"American Colonization Society and the Founding of Liberia."
In Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, ed. Patrick L. Mason. 2nd ed. Gale, 2013.
Annual Report of the American Colonization Society (1818-1910)
African Colonization Pamphlets
From the James Birney Collection, Johns Hopkins University. Arranged by date, oldest to newest
Letters to the American Colonization Society. in Six Parts.
As published In The Journal of Negro History.
Includes many letters from free persons of color.
Thoughts on African Colonization. Garrison, W. Lloyd. Boston, 1832.
Abolitionist William L. Garrison's attack on the American Colonization Society.

The Clotilda
Teach AfricaTown (Primary Source Gallery)
Mobile Alabama's Teach Africa Town initiative
Clotilda Digital Collection (Mobile Public Library)

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2024 4:53 PM
URL: https://libguides.shc.edu/abolition
Print Page

Subjects: History: United States

Tags: abolition, antislavery, slavery, slavery and the Bible

Burke Memorial Library I Spring Hill College I 4000 Dauphin Street I Mobile, AL 36608 I 251-380-3870 PDFs require Adobe® Acrobat Reader®.