A guide to finding resources in theology. Guides to specific resources and strategies for individual classes. Taking class online? Limit database searches to "full-text" and Library catalog searches to "Ebooks."
ATLA covers theology, philosophy, and ethics; world religions and religious studies; pastoral ministry, missions, ecumenical studies, church history; scriptures; culture and society; as well as archaeology and antiquities. ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. Citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. This database also contains the content of the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, which is no longer a stand-alone database.
Catholic Periodicals and Literature Index
The ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index was merged and absorbed into the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials database in June 2018. Please see the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials for access.
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index provides journals, essays, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Content within is indexed from 1981 - present.
The database is devoted to the study of the New Testament and its historical milieu and contains over 44,000 article abstracts and 16,500 book abstracts. This database provides abstracts only - you will need to search library catalog for full text or place an Interlibrary Loan request for full articles.
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a database that focuses on the advancement of learning and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Access to bibliographies, memoirs, plays and theater, literature and writers, and primary source material from the Middle Ages and Renaissance periods.
Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.