LibGuides: United States History: Environmental History

Environmental History

Miller, Char. The Atlas of U.S. and Canadian Environmental History. Routledge, 2003.
Covers American environmental history through the use of four-color maps,
photos, and diagrams, and in written entries from well known scholars.

Encyclopedia of Global Change, Oxford, 2002. GE149 .E47 2000 vols. 1-2 Reference Fl. 1

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. Sage, 2008.
QC981.8 .G56 E47 2008 vols. 1-3 Reference Fl. 1

Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An Encyclopedia, Greenwood, 2003.
GF50 .J65 2003 Reference Fl. 1

DellaSala, Dominick A., ed. Encyclopedia of the Anthropocene. Oxford England: Elsevier, 2018.
Catalogs the impact of humanity's global ecological footprint. Covers climate change, biodiversity, contaminants, geological, energy and ethics. Leading scientists provide foundational essays that enable researchers to define and scrutinize information, ideas, relationships, meanings and ideas within the Anthropocene concept.

Crosby, Alfred W. Ecological Imperialism: The Biological Expansion of Europe, 900-1900. Cambridge, 2004.
Alfred Crosby maintains in this highly original and fascinating book, that the Europeans' displacement and replacement of the native peoples in the temperate zones was more a matter of biology than of military conquest. The spread of European disease, flora, and fauna went hand in hand with the growth of populations. Consequently, these imperialists became proprietors of the world's most important agricultural lands.
Fiege, Mark. The Republic of Nature: An Environmental History of the United States. University of Washington Press, 2012.
Fiege reframes the canonical account of American history based on the simple but radical premise that nothing in the nation's past can be considered apart from the natural circumstances in which it occurred.
Hughes, J D. An Environmental History of the World: Humankind's Changing Role in the Community of Life. Routledge, 2001
A concise history, from ancient to modern times, of the interactions between human societies and the natural environment.
Lewis, Michael L. American Wilderness: A New History. Oxford, 2007.
This collected volume of original essays proposes to address the state of scholarship on the political, cultural, and intellectual history of Americans responses to wilderness from first contact to the present.
Steinberg, Theodore. Down to Earth: Nature's Role in American History. Oxford University Press, 2002.
ISBN: 9780195140095
Ranging from the colonists' attempts to impose order on the land to the modern efforts to sell the wilderness as a consumer good, packaged in national parks and Alaskan cruises, Steinberg reminds readers that many critical episodes in our history were, in fact, environmental events.
Uekötter, Frank, and Jens I. Engels. The Turning Points of Environmental History. University of Pittsburgh, 2010.
In this volume, an international group of environmental historians documents the significant ways in which humans have impacted their surroundings throughout history.

Search Burke Library for

Human Geography/Biogeography

Samples:

Nadeau, Robert. The Environmental Endgame:
Mainstream Economics, Ecological Disaster, and
Human Survival. Rutgers University Press, 2006.

Pacione, Michael. Applied Geography: Principles and
Practice : an Introduction to Useful Research in
Physical, Environmental and Human Geography.
Routledge, 1999.

Search Burke Library for

Human ecology

Samples:

Kelman, Ari. A River and Its City: The Nature of Landscape in New Orleans. University of California Press, 2003.

McMichael, A J. Human Frontiers, Environments, and Disease: Past Patterns, Uncertain Futures. Cambridge University Press, 2001.

O'Neill, John. Ecology, Policy, and Politics: Human Well-Being and the Natural World. Routledge, 1993.

Search Burke Library for

Environmental and natural disasters

Samples:

Bankoff, Greg, et al. Mapping Vulnerability: Disasters, Development, and People. Earthscan Publications, 2004.

Button, Gregory. Disaster Culture: Knowledge and Uncertainty in the Wake of Human and Environmental Catastrophe. Left Coast Press, 2010.

Moral, Roger , and Lawrence R. Walker. Environmental Disasters, Natural Recovery and Human Responses. Cambridge University Press, 2007.
QH545 .N3 M67 2007 Lower level

Search for types of environmental disasters

oil spills

hurricanes

sample:

Otvos, Ervin G, and Gregory A. Carter. "Hurricane Degradation--Barrier Development Cycles, Northeastern Gulf of Mexico: Landform Evolution and Island Chain History." Journal of Coastal Research. (2008): 463-478. (Dauphin Island. Includes references)

Search also for names of specific environmental incidents

Search Burke Library for

Effects of human beings on the environment

Samples:

DellaSala, Dominick A., ed. Encyclopedia of the
Anthropocene. Oxford England: Elsevier, 2018.
catalogues the impact of humanity's global ecological footprint

Jones, E. L. Revealed Biodiversity: An Economic
History of the Human Impact. World Scientific,
2014.