Skip to main content

Instructional Design: Tech Resources

This guide serves faculty, staff, and students in improving and supporting instruction and learning in various learning environments (e.g., face-to-face, hybrid, and fully online). This represents our effort to share our knowledge with you.

Faculty Development Center (BL112) Software

Faculty:

Here's a list of software available on the computers in the Faculty Development Center located in the Burke Library. Notify Sandra Rogers (x4480) if you'd like to learn more about how to use any of it. Faculty and adjuncts have access to this room (BL112) whenever the main library is open. Faculty have the key (#729) to the door.  

Test Migration Software

  • Respondus 4.1 (Test migration software) - A campus-wide license is available, which allows faculty to install this software on office and/or personal computers. It's a Windows-only application for test creation but finished products work on all computer platforms.
  • Create tests and question pools, then publish to Schoology, save, and/or print.
  • Extract tests and question pools from other learning management system for migration to Schoology.
  • The Respondus Test Bank Network contains thousands of test banks for the leading textbooks in higher education. The Test Bank Network is free for instructors who adopt a participating textbook. Visit the link for training material and free webinars.

Test Integrity Software

We have a campus-wide site license for Respondus Lockdown Browser and Monitor for test integrity. Access these tools within your Schoology test settings when you make an assessment. Once you turn these features on for your test, students will be asked to install and use them prior to taking the test. 

Evaluation Statistics

 IBM SPSS 24, advanced statistical analysis to understand data, identify trends, and make predictions

Production Software
These programs allow for the creation of text documents, spreadsheets, and slide presentations.

  • Microsoft Office 2016
  • Google Apps (aka G Suite) available within Gmail

These tools allow for the creation of audio, video, and screencast content to be distributed in a variety of methods, including through Schoology.

  • Camtasia Studio 9 for video editing and production 
  • Snagit 13 for screen captures and photo editing
  • Audacity® 2.0.6 for audio recordings

PDF Creation & Editing
These tools allow for the creation and/or editing of portable document files (PDFs), which is a more generally accessible format.

  • Adobe Acrobat Pro XI can bring new life to old PDFs (e.g., right them if they were photocopied askew), combine Word Docs and other PDFs into a single PDF, add fillable blanks to create form fields, and edit existing PDFs in a combined format. It also can render a PDF with the accessibility features required by the American Disability Act. See this Acrobat XI User Guide to learn how to edit PDFs.
  • Microsoft Office 2016 (Save as PDF Add-in)
  • You can also save anything into a PDF when you select that option in print mode.
  • There is a paper scanner in this room in case you only have the paper format and cannot find the original in digital format. It's an HP Scanjet 8270. 

Image Editing
These software tools allow for editing of photos or other images:

  • Adobe Photoshop CS6
  • Adobe Illustrator
  • Picasa, a Google Drive app for image curation, editing, and sharing
  • Snagit

Available Hardware

  • Epson Perfection 3170 Photo Scanner: There's an image scanner located connected to one of the computers.
  • Scantron: This machine uses form 888-2. The SHC Bookstore sells the Scantron sheets to students for 6 in a pack for around $2. Let the SHC Bookstore know in advance if you'll be asking students to purchase them, so they'll have enough available. The Scantron Item Analysis Summary Sheet (Form 9700) is used to determine areas of difficulty for your students.  These are available at scantronforms.com

See other hardware in the PowerPoint presentation below. Those items are available for loan through the library.

Adobe Creative Suite Available in Lab BL031

Faculty & Students:

The Burke Library room 31 has 25 computers equipped with the current edition of Adobe Creative Suite. Students have access to Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Audition, After Effects, and other popular software (e.g., Movie Maker) during regular library hours when the lab isn't in scheduled use.

Here's the list from IT on the available resources in various computer labs in the library.

How to Clear Your Browser

Students and Faculty:

If you're encountering trouble online, it could be time to clear the cache, cookies, and history in your Web browser. Additionally, you may need to update your browser to the latest edition. Here are the links to the major browsers:

The Online Educator eNewsletter

Faculty:

This e-newspaper is composed of tweets from Sandra Rogers' twitter list of educational innovators and tech leaders. The content is amazing because it's crowdsourced from experts in the field. As the editor, she strives to headline the most relevant and timely content to support professional excellence in using technology for the pursuit of knowledge. 

Currently, Dr. Rogers works as the instructional designer at SHC. Direct message her @teacherrogers to be included in this personal learning network (PLN): The Online Educator: Technology for the Pursuit of Knowledge.

Faculty Hardware for Circulation

Free Resources for Online Course Design

Faculty:

Here's a list of useful open educational resources (OER) and otherwise free tools for course design.

Category Websites   URL

Generic Images 

Getty Images         

http://www.gettyimages.com/

Generic Images Unsplash https://unsplash.com/
Historical Images World Digital Library http://www.wdl.org/en/
Course Content OpenStax CNX http://cnx.org/
Course Content Coursera https://www.coursera.org/
Course Content MERLOT II http://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm
eBooks Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/
eBooks Bartleby

http://www.bartleby.com/fiction/

Digital Library Hathi Trust https://www.hathitrust.org/
Digital Library Internet Archive  https://archive.org/

Audio Recorder

Audacity

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Learning Management System

NiceNet http://www.nicenet.org/

Synchronous conference tool

Google Hangouts https://hangouts.google.com/‚Äč
Synchronous conference tool  Skype

https://www.skype.com/en/

Background instrumental music Jamendo

https://www.jamendo.com/start

See Dr. Rogers' Pinterest Board on OER for more free resources.

General Ed Tech Resources

SHC eLeaders in Educational Technology Integration

Role: An e-Leader serves as a point-person for faculty seeking innovative use of instructional technology to meet pedagogical needs. Web-enhanced refers to traditional classes that integrate technology into their lessons. *Asterisks indicate learner engagement affordances.

Instructor

Ed Tech

Usage

Context/Subscription

Drs. Carmody & Viscardi

Camtasia Studio

Record (and edit) screencast, videos, or audio for greetings, lectures, or to explain assignments

Online Learning & Web-enhanced: Create a video tutorial on how to do something. (Single user subscription available in BL112.)

Dr. Cole

Socrative.com

Virtual student response (clicker) system*

Web-enhanced: Review material and assess students’ understanding of content to increase productivity, engagement, retention, discussion, attention, & learning. (Free)

Drs. Carmody &  Viscardi

YouTube.com

Unlisted video channel to host your media and caption it

Online Learning: Share podcast or video lectures in hybrid or fully online course. (Free)

 

Dr. Mandyck

 

Zotero.com

Collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. *

Online Learning & Web-enhanced: Teach your students how to use this to curate their citations for their research papers. (Free)

Dr. Sanders

Weebly.com 

Website builder*

Connect2Learn, an educational technology conference hosted by the Education preservice teachers at SHC that’s open to all teachers for professional development. (Free)

Drs. Mathers & Fox

 

Respondus software

Test migration software for learning management systems (LMS)

Online Learning: Convert & upload existing tests from Word documents to the LMS or move/copy tests from within the LMS (Multi-user subscription).

Dr. Sanders

 

EdPuzzle.com

Create interactive quizzes based on the videos you share in class or videos in the public domain. *

Online Learning & Web-enhanced: Create questions based on your homework assignment of a film or video-based lecture (Free)

Dr. Fox

ExplainEverything.com

An app to create tutorials or collaborate on a project

Online Learning & Web-enhanced: Describe and illustrate a point simultaneously with voice and visuals. (Free)

Drs. Mandyck & Sanders

Google Classroom, Drive,  Apps

Use of Google apps for educational purposes.*

Online Learning & Web-enhanced:  Collaborate on a document with Google Docs; Host lectures and discussions online with Google Classroom. (Included in Gmail subscription as a Google Apps for Education campus)

Drs. Mandyck, Mathers, Massey, Simpson, Shoeffler, Sanders

Shc.schoology.com

LMS for discussions, assignments, tests, and repository for course materials. Schoology offers endless opportunities for supporting the learning context.

Online Learning & Web-enhanced: Create or enhance a course or form a Group. (LMS contract)

 

SHC EzProxy Link for Library Databases

Faculty:

Use the SHC EzProxy link+ Database Permalink to share articles with students instead of posting copyright protected articles directly in your online courses/sites. First, find the article on the website. Then use the permalink on that page. It's a stable URL that can be found in the database of the article listing. The combination link will take students to the Burke Library database for that article. Copy and paste this link and add the permalink after the equal sign: http://ezproxy.shc.edu:2048/login?url=

Note: Off-campus students will need to log in to the library website with their BadgerWeb ID to access it.  

Current issue: The EBSCO database links won't open correctly if they're set to display in the Schoology course. They produce an "error in HttpHandler" every time. A workaround is to set the link to display in a new tab or window, then they will open as expected. See image of link setting for Schoology below.

Edit Link features link/URL, title, and options. Set option to 'Display in new window.'

Fair Use Information

Internet Terms & Netiquette