Cullum, N, Users' guides to the nursing literature: an introduction. Evidence-Based Nursing, 2000 Jul; 3:p. 71-72.[Free Full Text]
Flemming K. Asking answerable questions [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1998 Apr; 1:36-7.[Free Full Text]
Gallagher, P.E., Getting started in evidence-based health care: a guide to resources. Med RefServ Q, 1999. 18(4): p. 1-10.
Hunt, D.L., R. Jaeschke, and K.A. McKibbon, Users' guides to the medical literature: XXI. Using electronic health information resources in evidence-based practice. Evidence-Based Medicine Working Group. Jama, 2000. 283(14): p. 1875-9. [Free Full Text]
McKibbon KA, Marks S. Searching for the best evidence. Part 1: where to look [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1998 Jul;1:68-70. [Free Full Text]
McKibbon KA, Marks S. Searching for the best evidence. Part 2: searching CINAHL and Medline [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1998 Oct; 1:105-7. [Free Full Text]
Ploeg J. Identifying the best research designs to fit the question. Part 2: qualitative designs. Evidence-Based Nursing 1999 Apr; 2: 36-7. [Free Full Text]
Roberts J, DiCenso A. Identifying the best research designs to fit the question. Part 1: quantitative designs. Evidence-Based Nursing 1999 Jan;2:4-6. [Free Full Text]
Russell, C.K., Gregory, D.M. Evaluation of Qualitative Research Studies. Evidence-Based Nursing 2003 6: 36-40 [Free Full Text]
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.
ClinicalTrials.gov: Contains approximately 11,300 clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC): A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. The NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
PubMed: The primary database of information in the medical and health sciences fields.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Best Practice Guidelines
Best Practice Guidelines developed by Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) as part of their nursing best practice guidelines project begun in 1999.
Best Practice Information Sheets
Summary information on best practice guidelines by the Joanna Briggs Institute of Australia. The guideline summaries are searchable.
RCN Clinical Guidelines
Practice guidelines from the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) in the United Kingdom.
Nesbit Guide to Evidence-based Resources Links to resources from the Miner Library at the University of Rochester.
Evidence-based Practice Resources on the World Wide Web A List of resources links compiled by the Academic Center for Evidence-based Nursing by University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.
Evidence-based Nursing Links to resources, articles, tools and other information on evidence-based nursing compiled by the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina.
Evidence-based Medicine List of resources compiled by librarians at Tompkins-McCaw Library at Virginia Commonwealth University.