LibGuides: Nursing: Home

Search Burke Library

Top Nursing Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides authoritative coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and dozens of allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
PUBMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse NGC), a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally c

Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context's Opposing Viewpoints supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Evidence-Based Practice

Best Practice Guidelines
Best Practice Guidelines developed by Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) as part of their nursing best practice guidelines project begun in 1999.

Best Practice Information Sheets
Summary information on best practice guidelines by the Joanna Briggs Institute of Australia. The guideline summaries are searchable.

RCN Clinical Guidelines
Practice guidelines from the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) in the United Kingdom.

Bibliographies

Nesbit Guide to Evidence-Based Resources
Links to resources from the Miner Library at the University of Rochester.

Evidence-Based Practice Resources on the World Wide Web
List of resources links compiled by the Academic Center for Evidence-Base Nursing by University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Evidence Based Nursing
Links to resources, articles, tools and other information on evidence based nursing compiled by the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina.

Evidence-Based Medicine
List of resources compiled by librarians at Tompkins-McCaw Library.