LibGuides: PHL 230 Philosophy of Religion: Home

God replied to Moses: I am who I am. Then he added: This is what you will tell the Israelites: I AM has sent me to you . . . This is my name forever; this is my title for all generations

Ancient Philosophy of Religion. The History of Western Philosophy of Religion. Graham Oppy, ed. Routledge, 2014
Medieval Philosophy of Religion. The History of Western Philosophy of Religion. Graham Oppy, ed. Routledge, 2013.
Early Modern Philosophy of Religion. The History of Western Philosophy of Religion. Graham Oppy, ed. Routledge, 2104
Nineteenth-Century Philosophy of Religion. The History of Western Philosophy of Religion. Graham Oppy, ed. Routledge, 2013.
Twentieth-Century Philosophy of Religion. The History of Western Philosophy of Religion. Graham Oppy, ed. Routledge, 2013.

"Philosophy of Religion" from the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks about Philosophy of Religion

Kanaris, Jim. Bernard Lonergan's Philosophy of Religion. State University of New York, 2002.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks Proofs for the Existence of God

The Ontological argument

The Cosmological argument

The Argument from Design

The Argument from Miracles

The Moral argument

The Pragmatic argument

Kronen, John and Menssen, Sandra (2013) "The Argument From Wholes: A Classical Hindu
Design Argument For The Existence Of God," Faith and Philosophy: Journal of the Society of
Christian Philosophers: Vol. 30 : Iss. 2 , Article 2. DOI: 10.5840/faithphil201330211

De Cruz, Helen, and Johan De Smedt. "Paley's iPod: The Cognitive Basis of the Design Argument within Natural Theology." Zygon: Journal of Religion & Science 45, no. 3 (2010): 665–84.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks Arguments for and about Atheism

Wood, W. Jay. God. Taylor & Francis, 2010.
1. Design arguments; 2. Cosmological arguments; 3. The ontological argument; 4. The moral argument for God's existence; 5. Religious experience and cumulative case arguments; 6. Religious belief without evidence; 7. The problem of suffering; 8. The nature of God
Le Poidevin, Robin. Arguing for Atheism: an introduction to the philosophy of religion. Routledge, 1996.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks about Religious Experience and Philosophy

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks about Faith, Reason, and Philosophy

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about Divine Hiddenness

Dumsday, Travis. “Divine Hiddenness and the Opiate of the People.” International Journal for Philosophy of Religion 76, no. 2 (2014): 193–207.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about the Problem of Evil

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about the Logical Problem of Evil

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about the Evidential Argument from Evil

Bergmann, M. “Skeptical Theism and Rowe's Evidential Argument from Evil.” Nous 35 (2001): 278–96.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks about Epistemology and Theology

Zeis, J. “A Foundherentist Conception of the Justification of Religious Belief.” International Journal for Philosophy of Religion 58, no. 3 (2005): 133–60.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks about Religion and Science

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about Eschatology, Eternal Life, and Hell

Sachs, John R. “Current Eschatology: Universal Salvation and the Problem of Hell.” Theological Studies 52, no. 2 (1991): 227-254.

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about Hindu Philosophy of Religion

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about Buddhist Philosophy of Religion

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about Islamic Philosophy of Religion

Search the Full Online Catalog for EBooks and Articles about Jewish Philosophy of Religion

See also the Research Guide for World Religions

Search JSTOR Journal Subsets

Sample Search "Divine Hiddenness" in EJournal Religious Studies

PhilPapers

A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.

PhilArchive

An open-access e-print archive collection of philosophical work.

Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials This link opens in a new window
ATLA covers theology, philosophy, and ethics; world religions and religious studies; pastoral ministry, missions, ecumenical studies, church history; scriptures; culture and society; as well as archaeology and antiquities. ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. Citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. This database also contains the content of the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, which is no longer a stand-alone database.

Stagaman, David J, et al. Wittgenstein & Religion: A Bibliography of Articles, Books, and Theses in the Twentieth Century
That Relate the Philosophy of Ludwig Wittgenstein to the Study of Religion and Theology. Manila University, 2001.
B3376 .W564 2001 Fl 2

Wainwright, William J. Philosophy of Religion: An Annotated Bibliography of Twentieth-Century Writings in English.
Garland, 1978. BL51 .W3 Reference Fl 1

British Society for Philosophy of Religion

Center for Philosophy of Religion (University of Notre Dame)

Birmingham Centre for Philosophy of Religion (University of Birmingham, UK)

Society for Philosophy of Religion (USA)