Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Burke Memorial Library Blog

Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries and Dictionary

by Lauren Jensen on 2022-08-05T17:36:00-05:00 in Theology, Reference | Comments

Burke Library has two new resources available for researches: the Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries and the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary in Theology & Relgiion Online from Bloomsbury Online.

Theology and Religion Online

The Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. The commentary collection "draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world" and it includes a "book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible."  You can find it on the database A-Z list:

  • Subscription
New
"Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 86 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. This prestigious commentary series represents the pinnacle of biblical scholarship"...It "draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the Bible."
At the same time, the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics.  You can explore the dictionary by topic, allowing users to begin their browsing with the categories of people, places, and deities.  It is also listed on the database A-Z list:
  •      
New
"The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics." It contains "more than 6,000 entries, 7,000,000 words, and nearly 1,000 contributors, endpaper maps of the Near Eastern world keyed to text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites, articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text."
 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...