Skip to main content

Burke Memorial Library Blog

November Database of the Month: MLA International Bibliography

by Lauren Jensen on 2018-11-01T08:00:00-05:00 in Multidiscipline / General Research, English | Comments

Our November Database of the Month is the MLA International Bibliography.  The MLA International Bibliography is organized by the Modern Language Association.  They describe the contents of the database as:

"The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.8 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field, the bibliography is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work. Students at all levels rely on the bibliography to lead them to the journals, books, Web sites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects.

In addition to the bibliography, a subscription to the database includes

  • the MLA Directory of Periodicals—a valuable resource for scholars seeking outlets to publish their work and for librarians working to identify periodical publications that best meet their institutions’ needs. The directory includes publication details, submission requirements, and subscription information for thousands of journals and series in the MLA’s core subject areas.
  • the MLA Bibliography Thesaurus—a searchable and browsable controlled vocabulary that enables users to identify terminology appearing in current scholarship and to create more precise searches."

What is the MLA International Bibliography?

What Is the MLA International Bibliography? (on EBSCO) from MLA International Bibliography on Vimeo.

EBSCO, the vendor that Burke Library uses to subscribe to the MLA International Bibliography database partnered with MLA to produce a series of video tutorials on the database.  These range from general overviews to advanced searching techniques to searching specific subject areas.  A full list of video tutorials is available online, but a few highlights are:

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...