LibGuides: ENG 241 Introduction to Fiction: Journals Publishing Literary Criticism

ELH

ELH
ELH (English Literary History) is an academic journal established in 1934 at Johns Hopkins University, devoted to the study of major works in the English language, particularly British literature. Access to this journal is provided by these databases:

Academic OneFile: Gale This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Connects users to biographical information on over 120,000 authors, and includes over 10,000 biocritical essays. Includes the Gale Literary Index - containing abstracts of critical scholarly articles on literature, poetry, drama, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'

MFS
MFS (Modern Fiction Studies) is a peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1955 at Purdue University's Department of English. MFS publishes general and themed issues of literary criticism on modernist and contemporary fiction. Access to this journal is provided by this database:

Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'

MLN
MLN (Modern Language Notes) is an academic journal established in 1886 at the Johns Hopkins University, where it is still edited and published, with the intention of introducing continental European literary criticism into American scholarship. Each year, one issue is devoted to each of four languages (Italian, Hispanic languages, German, French). The fifth issue focuses on comparative literature. Access to this journal is provided by these databases:

Academic OneFile: Gale This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Connects users to biographical information on over 120,000 authors, and includes over 10,000 biocritical essays. Includes the Gale Literary Index - containing abstracts of critical scholarly articles on literature, poetry, drama, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'

PMLA
PMLA (Publications of the Modern Language Association) is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Access to this journal is provided by these databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.