LibGuides: HIS 110 Global Witch Trials: Reference

Reference Sources

Witchcraft, etc.
Biography, etc.

Levack, Brian P. The Oxford Handbook of Witchcraft in Early Modern Europe and Colonial America.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. BF1571 .O94 2013 Fl. 1 Reference

Witchcraft Sourcebook. 2nd ed.
Levack, Brian P. Florence: Taylor and Francis, 2015.
more...less...
Provides students with a broad range of sources, many of which have been translated into English for the first time, with commentary and background.
Historical Dictionary of Witchcraft. 2nd ed.
Durrant, Jonathan B, and Michael David Bailey. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
Witchcraft and Magic in Europe: The Period of the Witch Trials.
Ankarloo, Bengt, et al. London: Athlone, 2002.
Witchcraft and Magic in Europe: The Middle Ages.
Ankarloo, Bengt, et al. London: Athlone Press, 2002.
Male Witches in Early Modern Europe.
Apps, Lara. Manchester University Press, 2003.
Witch Hunts: From Salem to Guantanamo Bay.
Rapley, Robert. Montreal Que.: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2007.
Witch Hunts in the Western World : Persecution and Punishment from the Inquisition through the Salem Trials.
Pavlac, Brian Alexander. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2009.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620 : A Biographical Dictionary.
Carney, Jo Eldridge. Greenwood Press, 2001.
A Biographical Encyclopedia of Early Modern Englishwomen : Exemplary Lives and Memorable Acts, 1500-1650.
Levin, Carole, ed. London: Routledge, 2017.
Britannica Academic. (from the Alabama Virtual Library).

Commire, Anne, and Deborah Klezmer. Women in World History :
A Biographical Encyclopedia. 17 vols. Waterford, CT: Yorkin
Publications, 1999. HQ 1115 .W6 1999 Fl. 1 Reference

Hillerbrand, Hans Joachim. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation.
4 vols. (online version is above) New York: Oxford University Press,
1996. BR302.8 .O93 1996 Fl. 1 Reference

New Catholic Encyclopedia. 19 vols. New York: McGraw-Hill Book
Company, 1967-2003. BX841 .N44 2003 Fl. 1 Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. Access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.