LibGuides: Computer Information Science: Finding Articles

Articles, News, Industry publications, etc.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, "this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses." Full text of more than 2,100 business and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Also includes company information and market reports.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.
Academic Select: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile Academic Select is a collection of more than 5,300 titles from a wide variety of scholarly disciplines. It includes journals, magazines, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities, general interest magazines, science and technology, and news sources.
Business: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
From Gale, "OneFile Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications."
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times, Le Monde. Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Covers the mathematical literature. Contains indexing, abstracts, and links to the mathematical literature since 1940.
Academic OneFile: Gale This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
Communication and Mass Media: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database helps researchers get the word out about the communications and mass media fields. Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 350 journals.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Company and industry information along with scholarly and general business periodicals.

E-Journal Titles for Business and Economics
Burke Library digital subscriptions
Wall Street Journal
Full text of WSJ (no charts, graphs, or pictures)
Ingenta Connect
Collections of academic and professional research articles online - some 5 million articles from 13,000 publications. Some articles are full text access. Subjects include: Agriculture/Food Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Biology/Life Sciences, Chemistry, Computer and Information Sciences, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Economics and Business, Engineering/Technology, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Philosophy/Linguistics, Physics/Astronomy, Psychology/Psychiatry, and Social Sciences.

Search Tips

Business databases have many content-specific search features that allow one to effectively retrieve and manipulate business information and data.

The most effective method of finding any information about a company or industry is to search by its ticker symbol, DUNS number or NAICS number. A few examples are shown below:

Sample search for "MSFT" (Microsoft) in Business Source Premier
Click a button to further refine your results by type of publication or by type of information.
Sample Mergent Online Search for Microsoft
Type "MSFT" into the "Company Search" box

North American Industrial Classification Search This link opens in a new window
Tool that allows users to search for businesses by NAICS code. Very useful for industry analysis and financial analysis.

To use, for example, click the "primary NAICS" button and enter "484121" (the industry code for Schneider National (SNDR); Celadon Group (CGIP), and Werner Enterprises (WERN) General Freight Trucking, Long-Distance) in the "code lookup" box. Searches can be focused by revenue, industry ratios, etc.

Find a Journal

Use Full Text Finder to locate a journal:

Additional Databases

DOAJ The Directory of Open Source Journals
HighWire Press
SciTechConnect
Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

Computer Information Science

Digital Services Librarian

Articles, News, Industry publications, etc.

Search Tips

Find a Journal

Additional Databases

APA Style Resources