LibGuides: English: Shakespeare

Scholarly Shakespeare Reference

Dobson, Michael, and Stanley Wells. The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. Print.
PR2892 .O94 2001 REFERENCE

Leggatt, Alexander. The Cambridge Companion to Shakespearean Comedy. Cambridge, U.K: Cambridge University Press, 2002. Internet resource.

Champion, Larry S. The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies. Boston, Mass: G.K. Hall, 1986. Print.
PR2894 .C5 1986 REFERENCE

Woodbridge, Linda. Shakespeare, a Selective Bibliography of Modern Criticism. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1988. Print.
PR2976 .W6 1988 REFERENCE

Schmidt, Alexander. Shakespeare Lexicon and Quotation Dictionary: A Complete Dictionary of All the English Words, Phrases, and Constructions in the Works of the Poet. New York: Dover Publications, 1971. Print.
PR2892 .S4 1971 vols. 1-2 REFERENCE

Online Catalog

Find Critical Sources

Databases for Critical Sources

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.