Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright: How to Use EZ Proxy to Share Articles

Information about U.S. Copyright Law with links to authoritative resources

Use the EZ Proxy Link to Share Articles in the Library Databases with Students

Articles in the library databases are very easy to share with students or other members of your department.  Follow these instructions to share articles or media straight from their original sources.

When you share an article from one of the library’s databases,  look for the shortened URL for the article.  It can be called a:

  • Permalink
  • Stable URL
  • Persistent URL

Each database vendor may use slightly different terminology, but all three versions are the same thing: a shorter URL that acts as an anchor for the article that you’re interested in.

Directions

Here’s how to use the SHC EZ Proxy link prefix + Database Permalink/Stable URL/Persistent URL to share copyright protected articles with your students.  If you have questions, ask your library liaison for help.

  1. First, find the article on the library database. 
  2. Then, find the permalink on that page. It is normally located in the Tools section.  The permalink is the URL that will refer directly back to a specific article.  
  3. Building the link has two parts:
    • First, you will need to copy and paste this EZ Proxy prefix link: http://ezproxy.shc.edu:2048/login?url=
    • Second, you will copy and paste and add the permalink from the database after the equal sign for your complete URL.
    • The final product should be similar to: 

http://ezproxy.shc.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=113989297&site=ehost-live

The combination link will take students into the Burke Library database for that article.

Note: Off campus students will need to log in to the library website with their BadgerWeb ID to access articles from the library's databases.  

 

Warning of Copyright Restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the reproduction, distribution, adaptation, public performance, and public display of copyrighted material.

Under certain conditions of the law, nonprofit libraries are authorized to lend, lease, or rent copies of printed materials, audio or video recordings, or computer programs, to patrons on a nonprofit basis and for nonprofit purposes.

Any person who makes an unauthorized copy or adaptation of the audio or video recording or computer program, or redistributes the loan copy, or publicly performs or displays the computer program, except as permitted by Title 17 of the United Sates Code, may be liable for copyright infringement.

This institution reserves the right to refuse to fulfill a loan request if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the request would lead to violation of the copyright law.