Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Flannery O'Connor: The Spring Hill College Connection: Home

Flannery O'Connor LibGuide by student Cecilia Dupepe

Welcome!

Welcome to the Flannery O'Connor research guide! Here, you will find resources in regards to Flannery O'Connor's life and works, both within Burke Memorial Library and beyond! Within the guide, there is basic biographical information about O'Connor, as well as details and resources about her unique relationship with Spring Hill College. This guide includes letters, photos, and other O'Connor writings from the Spring Hill College Archives that have never before been made public. Hopefully, with this research guide, good information will not be hard to find!

Where to Start With O'Connor's Works

About the Researcher

Cecilia Dupepe is a Spring Hill College English student of the Class of 2021. She created this research guide as an independent study/internship through the English department and Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections as an effort to showcase the unique documents Spring Hill has in relation to O'Connor. 

If you have any questions regarding the guide or her research, contact her at cecilia.l.dupepe@email.shc.edu, or contact Burke Memorial Library directly at this link:

Flannery O'Connor talking to faculty and students following her lecture at Spring Hill College in on April 4, 1960. 

Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections

Flannery O'Connor in at her home, Andalusia, with her dear friend and Spring Hill College alum and Jesuit, James Hart "Hootie" McCown, SJ. 

Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections

Flannery O'Connor answering questions from English students on the day following her lecture at Spring Hill College in 1960.

Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections

Photo of a scrapbook of newspaper clippings regarding Spring Hill College from 1960-1961. The top left of the page features a clipping about the Flannery O'Connor lecture from the Mobile Press Register. 

Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections

Flannery O'Connor was known for her various, witty signatures in her letters.

Image courtesy, Andalusia: The Home of Flannery O’Connor. “Assorted Regards, Title Image, 2019.”

Flannery O'Connor and her mother, Regina Cline O'Connor, sitting on the steps of her home at Andalusia Farm.

Image courtesy, Andalusia: The Home of Flannery O’Connor. “Andalusia Collection 2019.1.183, donated by Louise Florencourt, 2019.”

Trailer for the documentary Flannery