The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Turner, Bryan S.
Call Number: REF HM425 .C36 2006
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism. Most entries incorporate references for further reading and a cross-referencing system enables easy access to related areas. This Dictionary is an invaluable reference work for students and academics alike and will help to define the field of sociology in years to come.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: REF HM425 .E5 2000 VOL. 1-5
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Encyclopedia of social theory by Ritzer, George
Call Number: REF HM425 .E47 2005 VOL. 1-2
Perspectives from sociology, economics, philosophy, anthropology, political science, women's studies, cultural studies, psychoanalysis, and media theory, among others, are represented in 300-plus entries; but editors Ritzer and Stepnisky (both of U. of Maryland) emphasize in their introduction that sociology is the main reference point. The entries comprise in-depth treatment of long-established theories as well as briefer entries on cutting edge topics, and basic entries on key ideas, concepts, schools, and figures. Both of the two volumes begin with a complete list of entries and a useful reader's guide that arranges entries according to topics and themes. The entries are signed and include cross-references and further readings. End matter includes a chronology, a master bibliography, and an index.
Encyclopedia of Catholic social thought, social science, and social policy
Call Number: REF BX1753 .E595 2007 V. 1-2
This encyclopedia is a comprehensive introduction to Catholic social thought. The work combines three levels of analysis (1) broad-ranging theoretical work on key topics and scholarly disciplines, (2) social science perspectives on a wide range of topics relating to human nature and society, and (3) treatment of policy issues.