LibGuides: Biology: BIO 205: Invertebrate Zoology

When you get into the whole field of exploring . . . you realize that we live on a relatively unexplored planet. E.O. Wilson

Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale; 2003.
QL7 .G78 2003 Reference Fl. 1

Volume 1: Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes -- Volume 2: Protostomes
-- Volume 3: Insects

Arnett RH. American insects: a handbook of the insects of America north of Mexico.
2nd ed. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press; 2000. QL474 .A76 2000 Reference Fl. 1

Scott JA. The butterflies of North America: a natural history and field guide.
Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press; 1986. QL548 .S38 1986 Reference Fl. 1

Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences. Volume 1: Primary Production
Bioluminescence, Cephalopods, Continuous Plankton Recorders, Copepods, Dynamics of Bacteria and Phytoplankton, Krill, etc.
Encyclopedia of Insects
Covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease. Elsevier, 2009.
Smithsonian Contributions to Zoology
Complete systematic study of organisms with life history and comprehensive literature review.

International Coral Reef Initiative https://www.icriforum.org/

Search the Library catalog for Platyhelminthes

Gosling E. Marine Bivalve Molluscs. Wiley, 2015. by Elizabeth Gosling
ISBN: 9781119045229
a comprehensive and thoroughly updated second edition of Bivalve Molluscs, covering all major aspects of this important class of invertebrates.

Search the Library catalog for Cephalopods
(cuttlefish, squid, octopus)
Search the Library catalog for Octopuses
Search the Library catalog for Gastropods

Chase R. Behavior and Its Neural Control in Gastropod Molluscs. Oxford, 2002
ISBN: 9780195354485
Reviews the broader aspects of molluscan biology and draws attention to the special features of the gastropod nervous system and behavior.

Matranga, Valeria. Echinodermata. Berlin: Springer, 2005.

Echinoidea
ISBN: 9783110368536
This comprehensive book is the second volume of two books about sea urchins (echinoids) since Th. Mortensen.
Detailed and colored illustrated descriptions enable the reader to identify all species living today in our oceans.
Recent scientific searchings are included.

Search the Library catalog for Invertebrate Photoreceptor Cells

Parasitic Flatworms
ISBN: 9781845930394
Parasitic flatworms include Cestodes (tapeworms) and trematodes (flukes, schistosomes, etc) and are the cause of a number of major diseases of medical and veterinary significance.

Scott A, Harrison PL. Embryonic and larval development of the host sea anemones
entacmaea quadricolor and heteractis crispa. Biological Bulletin. 2007;213(2):110–121.

Oogenesis
ISBN: 9780470687987
Oocytes from various species (including clam, starfish, xenopus) are excellent model systems to study the biochemistry of cell division.

Search the Library catalog for Invertebrate Neurobiology
Search the Library catalog for Bioluminescence
Search the Library catalog for Predation
(may require filtering of results)

Brain Development in Drosophila Melanogaster
ISBN: 9780387782614
Provides an overview of major facets of research on Drosophila brain development.

Sample:

Shohet, Adam. Cuttlefish camouflage: a quantitative study of patterning.
Biological Journal of the Linnean Society. 2007;92(2):335–345.

Invasive Species: Terrestrial Invertebrates

Invasive Species: Aquatic Invertebrates

BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne is a global collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library contains journals, ebook, reference works and lab protocols in the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Subscription titles are identified with an open padlock symbol.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

Ingenta Connect