Burke Library is excited to announce the addition of the primary source database Black Life in America, Series 1 & 2, for Spring Hill College. This resource was made possible with a donation from the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library and provides sweeping coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day.
The two part collection is updated daily and compiled from over 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. It will be invaluable to researchers examining social justice and racial equity. Those diving into United States History, sociology, journalism, and communication in the media will also benefit.
Described by Readex, the publisher: "From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. By offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published across four centuries, this extraordinary product provides critical perspectives on the experiences of being Black in America. From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent."
Information is divided into two series, each with a different time period covered:
It is impossible to understand the struggles and successes of people of African descent in America without understanding their roots. Series 1 brings to life a pivotal era in American history, with original reporting and contemporary perspectives on the lives of enslaved and newly freed people, Nat Turner’s revolt, Harriet Tubman’s heroism, the Underground Railroad, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and more. Through firsthand reporting, editorials, obituaries, illustrations, and advertisements, these historical newspapers shed new light on critical events while revealing the impact of African Americans whose stories are less well known.
Even after slavery was toppled, many laws and policies continued to disadvantage Black Americans. Men and women such as W.E.B. Du Bois, Fannie Lou Hamer, and Martin Luther King, Jr., helped rectify these injustices, even while fighting a system often designed to silence them. Through historical newspapers, Series 2 provides insight into their efforts and those of hundreds of other civil rights leaders, as well as daily life during the Jim Crow era and the lasting contributions of African Americans in nearly every field imaginable. It also offers a range of views and reporting on the court decisions and policy changes that profoundly shaped the African American experience.
Find this amazing collection of materials on the Database A-Z list today!
0 Comments.