Skip to main content

Friends of the Library: Home

Give a Gift

Join or Renew your Membership

Our Mission

Our Mission

The Friends of the Spring Hill College Library is a volunteer group established to support and promote the Spring Hill College Library, Archives and Special Collections. The Friends raise and contribute funds through a variety of projects including the voluntary operation of the Book Nook used book store. The Friends encourage gifts and bequests of books and manuscripts to the Library and to the Archives and Special Collections and promote awareness of the Library and the college.

Spring Hill College's Best Kept Secret

FRIENDS OF SPRING HILL COLLEGE LIBRARY

Since 1990 (29 years) the Friends have helped the Library through difficult times by benefiting students, academic programs, academic and administrative departments, and College events. We have:

  • contributed $75,000.00 to the new library
  • purchased the Library’s first professional scanner to preserve the College’s historical documents
  • provided $500.00 to new faculty for library materials
  • provided two annual $250.00 awards to students who have effectively used original archival materials in their research
  • never turned down any faculty request for library materials when library budgets can’t cover a request
  • helped the library purchase several online databases, most recently the Jstor Arts & Sciences Collection II of research articles ($29,000.00)
  • funded digitization of the College’s yearbooks
  • funded professional librarians’ attendance  and presentations at professional conferences
  • fiscally supported the compiling and digitizing of a complete list of graduates, an indispensable tool for the Advancement Office
  • funded publication of several works by Dr. Charles Boyle, on the College’s history and programs, including Twice Remembered, Gleanings, and Sound Mind, Sound Body
  • underwrote costs to digitize the College’s Oral History Collection
  • offered/administered grant-funded literary, cultural, and historical events, as well as readings by College and local authors
  • supported departmental lecture series, College events, and students events, such as poetry slams
  • purchased the will of Bishop Portier for the Archives
  • purchased library furniture and computers as needed
  • made a $25,000.00 gift in the Friends 25th year used, in part, to refresh the College web conferencing space in the Library
  • funded the digitization and enhanced searching software for the College’s student newspaper, The Springhillian
  • since 1993 continuously operated the Book Nook, a second-hand bookstore on the lower level of Burke Library, where faculty/staff  receive a 20% discount

The impact of these contributions on the campus has been phenomenal. It could be even more so with your support, so please consider becoming a member, and/or serving on the Board, or helping the Friends expand Book Nook hours.

You can also join online at libguides.shc.edu/friendsofthelibrary or on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/shcfriendsofthelibrary, where you can give us a thumbs up.

Faculty/staff membership is $10.00, lowered both to recognize your personal fiscal concerns and to let you know you are needed.  Contact Library Director Gentry Holbert (gholber@shc.edu or 251.380.3871 or Friends President Dr. Alice Bahr, ahbahr@comcast.net or 251.533.7073) with any questions, comments and recommendations. Thank you for your time.

Communications Coordinator

Image of tree

There’s an important role awaiting you in an organization that needs your talent. As Communications Coordinator you would

·write a short annual newsletter for members

·develop press releases to publicize events

·solicit media outlets to cover the organization’s history, focus and accomplishments

·work with Board members and library staff who maintain web pages, Facebook postings, and Twitter accounts

·evaluate other venues that could extend outreach and

·coordinate all outreach activities

If you are Interested, please contact Alice Bahr at ahbahr@comcast.net or 251.533.7073 for more details.

2018-2019 Goals of the Friends of the Library

During the 2018-2019 academic year, the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library has several goals.  These include:

Badger Roots Workshop:  $25 for non-members

This workshop will help members explore their family roots at Spring Hill College.  The workshop is free for members and $25 for non-members.

Increase Library Resources

Build the library offerings available to the campus

Subsidize speakers for other departments on campus

Need help funding a speaker for your department and students?  Contact us and let us know!

Undergraduate Research Symposium:  $500

Covers the supplies, support, and award amounts for the 2018-2019 Undergraduate Research Symposium.

2017-2018 Contributions & Gifts of the Friends of the Library

During the 2017-2018 academic year, the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library made many contributions and gifts.  These include:

Foley Community Service Center gift in memory of volunteer Chip Drago:  $2500

Funds will be used to provide workbooks to support the ESL (English as a Second Language) program, where SHC students teach English to immigrants and refugees from all over the world.

JSTOR Collection in honor of former library director Alice Bahr: $26,250

Arts & Sciences II Collection digital journal collection in the humanities, social sciences, and sci of 759,339 articles in core research areas of Economics, History, Archaeology, classics, and area studies (Latin American, middle eastern, Slavic, African, and Asian).

Digitization of Yearbooks:  $15,000

Yearbooks are being digitized and will be available in an online, searchable format to the public.

Civil War Prize Case Files from National Archives: $50

Correspondence during the Civil War between Father Gautrelet and Cuban students Nemisio and Ermesto Guillo were acquired as well as letters to family in Cuba during the Civil War blockade of Mobile Bay.  The collection includes more than 20 handwritten letters in English, Spanish, and French. 

Professional Development: $5,000

Funding to support library faculty & staff travel for conference presentations and papers, national organization committee work, and immersion programs that will benefit the College in supporting professional scholarship.

Undergraduate Research Symposium – Supplies, support, awards:  $500

50th Anniversary Celebration of the First Moon Landing in 1969

"We choose to go to the Moon in this decade, and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard."  With these words, John F. Kennedy took us to the first lunar landing in 1969.  Celebrate the 50th anniversary of this out-of-the-world adventure with the Friend of the Spring Hill Library's Annual Dinner! 
 
When:  Thursday, May 9, 2019
            Cocktails and Auction at 6:30 pm
            Dinner at 7:30 pm
 
Where:  Byrne Memorial Hall
 
$55 per person, and RSVP by May 4
Reservations and check to:
Friends of Spring Hill College Library
c/o Audrey Patterson
3763 Old Shell Rd., Unit B
Mobile, AL  36608