Burke Memorial Library Blog

Summer 2018 Roundup - What's New and Updates from Burke

by Lauren Jensen SHC on 2018-08-14T08:00:00-05:00 | 0 Comments

It's been a busy summer here at Burke Library. We hope that you enjoyed your summer break! Here's a few updates and changes that you should be aware of as we start the fall semester:

The ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index was merged and absorbed into the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials database in June 2018. Please see the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials for access. A reminder note was added to the library's database listing for users.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials

ATLA covers theology, philosophy, and ethics; world religions and religious studies; pastoral ministry, missions, ecumenical studies, church history; scriptures; culture and society; as well as archaeology and antiquities. ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. Citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. This database also contains the content of the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, which is no longer a stand-alone database.

A reminder that Nexis Uni is the new version of LexisNexis Academic. Users will see a reminder of the name change on the library's database A-Z page.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Popular

Contains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times, Le Monde. Updated daily.

JSTOR announced a new collection of over 3,000 open access ebooks from over 40 different commercial and academic publishers. Users will now find these titles added into SHC's JSTOR collection. The ebooks are also discover-able in the library's catalog.

JSTOR

JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

HeinOnline, a publisher of legal and primary source material, offered libaries access to two new databases free of charge this summer. Burke Library added Gun Regulation and Legislation in America and Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law to the collection. You'll find both collections on the library's database A-Z page.

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

New

A collection from HeinOnline that periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

New

This HeinOnline collection brings together, all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Schoology has been upgraded to incorporate a cleaner and more user-friendly interface. All the tools you're accustomed to are still available, and all of your courses and their contents remain untouched. This is the first phase of Schoology's enhanced user experience, with more updates to come in the future. Stay tuned!

As always, you find the library's hours here: https://libguides.shc.edu/burkelibrary/hours The library has reduced hours until the semester begins and normal 2am hours resume after Labor Day weekend.

Add a Comment

Summer 2018 Roundup - What's New and Updates from Burke

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

Burke Memorial Library Blog

Summer 2018 Roundup - What's New and Updates from Burke

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.