Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Databses
Databases (sometimes referred to as Electronic Resources) are electronically-accessible, collections of information that have been organized and curated by experts. If your instructor says that you need scholarly journal articles or peer-reviewed sources, you should consult the databases! Databases will also provide you with magazine and newspaper articles.
View the full list of subscription library databases.
Try the databases below for general research.
Academic OneFile: Gale This link opens in a new window
Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. Access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times, Le Monde. Updated daily.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 160 major US regional newspapers. Contains full text of national and syndicated content.
NYT: The Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
The New York Times archive provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. It is possible to limit by article type including: classified ad, display ad, cartoons, letters, comic, editorial articles and more.
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context's Opposing Viewpoints supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Power Search: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search Gale's OneFile databases which cover a wide array of scholarly journals, magazines, and news publications.