LibGuides: ENG 190 Honors Composition & Literature: Home

Welcome!

This guide will assist you in your study of writing and literature in ENG 190 and particularly with the Author Research project assigned by Dr. Stephanie Callan. Don't hesitate to contact the librarians for help!

Catalog Search

Search the library catalog for books, ebooks, and scholarly articles on literature.

Databases

General/Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a search ebook platform that allows you to read ebooks and chapters of ebooks. You can read online, search within the ebook and create a personalized bookshelf of your titles.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Use these databases to find scholarly articles (literary analysis) on literature.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A wide range of literary criticism and analysis from a variety of Gale Company databases, including Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, Twayne's Authors Series, and more.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Scribner Writers Series: Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Find concise essays and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
Twayne's Authors Series: Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism covering authors worldwide through the end of the 20th Century, and in-depth analysis of major works of literature.