Investigate how genre affects writers and readers in the real world.
Find and select sources that meet the high standards for college research.
Assignment: Choose a published fiction writer you like who is currently living. Research how genre has impacted this writer’s career by finding interviews, book reviews, and other relevant sources. Use the search strategies and databases covered in your library instruction classes to locate most of your sources. In particular, try to find out:
Is this author known for writing in specific genres? Which ones? Who says so? Do you agree or disagree with these classifications?
Has this author said anything about why they write in specific genres, or how they understand those genres? Collect quotes that give you insight into what the author thinks about the genres they are known for.
How has genre affected this writer’s career? Does it affect their relationships with fans? How their work is perceived by critics? What prizes they’ve been nominated for? How their books are marketed?
From Gale, "Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work."
A great place to start your research with access to the world's best citable information, wherever you are. Easy access to trusted content from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers. Access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides reliable information on authors and their works while at the same placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Connects users to biographical information on over 120,000 authors, and includes over 10,000 biocritical essays. Includes the Gale Literary Index - containing abstracts of critical scholarly articles on literature, poetry, drama, and more.
Literature Online (LION) includes access to works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. Proquest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips.'
From EBSCO, "MAS Ultra – School Edition provides full text for top high-school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). It also includes full-text biographies, primary source documents, reference books, an image collection containing photos, maps, flags and color PDFs and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1921) for key magazines."
The New York Times archive provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. It is possible to limit by article type including: classified ad, display ad, cartoons, letters, comic, editorial articles and more.
Teaching Books is a database of "resources for children's and young adult books and their authors and illustrators. The resource collection includes short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more." Access is provided by the Alabama Virtual Library and you will be leaving SHC's network when accessing this product. Access is limited to those in the State of Alabama.