JSTOR Journal Subset Search: Business and Management Journals
Social Networking in Recruitment by 
Employer Brand Management by American Compensation Association
http://www.aconline.org
American Payroll Association
http://www.americanpayroll.org
Employee Benefits Research Institute
http://www.ebri.org
National Institute of Pension Administrators
http://www.nipa.org
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd
Statistics
Pay and Benefits
https://www.bls.gov/bls/wages.htm
Current Employee Compensation and Benefits Journals
Employee Training
Training,Workforce Development, Teamwork (includes instructional and learning systems design)
Employee Motivation
Group Facilitation
American Society for Training and Development (ASTD) (see also training and development journals at bottom of box)
http://www.astd.org
Sample EBooks
Inside Group Work: A Guide to Reflective Practice by
A valuable guide to working with groups for a variety of purposes in the human services. Its distinctive strength is the focus on 'thinking group' and on theory informed reflective practice. Grounded throughout in the rich experiences of 'group insiders', the book is both engaging and informative. Definitely a recommended resource for practitioners, students and educators. Ros Thorpe, Professor of Social Work and Community Welfare, James Cook University Group facilitation is a core skill for social workers, community workers, youth workers, health workers and psychologists. Inside Group Work offers a guide to group work theory and practice in a variety of human service settings. Drawing on thought-provoking contributions from experienced group leaders and participants, Fiona McDermott outlines the various ways in which group work can be used. Focusing particularly on psychoeducation groups, psychotherapy groups, mutual aid groups and social action groups, she explains that the purpose of the group should determine the form it takes. The key facilitation skills of listening, observing, intervening and responding under pressure are outlined. But McDermott argues these skills by themselves are not sufficient. Rather, facilitators need to 'think group' in order to be most effective. McDermott also explains the various stages groups go through, and looks at ways in which group facilitators can handle typical problems. She explores issues of power and leadership, and also the influence of gender, sexuality, ethnicity and age.
Diversity Within Diversity Management: Country-Based Perspectives by
Nowadays, managing and promoting diversity is of paramount importance to the future of sustainability and the political and business agenda. Despite a tremendous growth in diversity management scholarship in recent years, a strong tendency has emerged whereby existing theories focus on a single level of analysis, using a limited range of mostly Western research settings, and on a narrow range of diversity types. Diversity research has insofar focused on prioritizing visible forms of diversity, such as gender or disability, with less emphasis placed on diversity in culture and values internationally.This edited book provides new practical and strategic insights for practitioners, managers, students and policy makers; it delves into the strategic nature of policy intervention with thought-provoking contributions written by experts from around the world. Contributors aim to provide critical reflection of current debate areas on workplace equality and diversity in under-researched countries to inform and support evidence-based decision making for a wide variety of academic and practice-oriented stakeholders.
The AMA Trainers' Activity Book: A Selection of the Best Learning Exercises From the World's Premiere Training Organization by
The American Management Association's seminar and course leaders are among the most insightful and skilled educators in the business, consistently delivering outstanding, innovative exercises to improve individual and organizational performance.The AMA Trainers' Activity Book presents 25 exercises used successfully by AMA's seminar leaders throughout the world. Reflecting the most up-to-date concerns of participants, trainers, and managers, the book addresses fundamental learning categories including learning and creativity, communication and connection, influence, compromise, problem solving, and leadership. Easily adapted for use with both individuals and teams, the collection includes exercises on topics such as: - Making Great Decisions - Clarifying Goals and Values - Developing Your Brand - Managing Difficult Projects - Building a Positive Work Environment You'll find eye-opening discussions of training issues such as: - Information Retention - Problem-Based Learning - Focused Listening - Perspective Switching - And much more In addition, a special activity template gives you all the information you need at a glance, and helps you incorporate the exercises seamlessly into your established routine, improving your training sessions immediately.The AMA Trainers' Activity Book presents the combined efforts of the very best trainers and seminar leaders anywhere, in conjunction with the world's preeminent learning organization. It is a practical and comprehensive tool for better training, smarter learning, and higher performance in any organization." "
Training and Development Journals
The Manager's Guide to Performance Reviews by
Translated into 16 languages! The reader-friendly, icon-rich Briefcase Books series is must reading for all managers at every level. All managers, whether brand new to their positions or well-established in the organizational hierarchy, can use a little "brushing up" now and then. The skills-based Briefcase Books series is filled with ideas and strategies to help managers become more capable, efficient, effective, and valuable to their organizations. For both managers and employees, performance reviews are too often viewed as negative and disciplinary. The Manager's Guide to Performance Reviewshelps managers instead make reviews both positive and proactive. It provides a step-by-step process for administering an effective performance review, one that will meet the organization's needs for employee appraisal while giving employees an honest sense of how they are performing and where they could improve. Also examined are various approaches to performance reviews, different forms and techniques, and more.
Prove It! How to Creat High-Performance Culture and Measurable Success by
Inspire performance and prove your leadership impact Prove It! is the executive guide to improving organisational performance through the practice of evidence-based leadership. More than ever before, the world is demanding transparency and accountability from organisational leaders, and there is a growing push to hold leaders responsible for the performance of their organisation. Many executives panic at the thought of what transparency might reveal and how they might be held accountable, but others relish the opportunity to showcase their organisation's performance. The difference is in the leadership methodology. The best leaders already know how their organisation is performing, and that it has improved during their tenure - and they can prove it because they practise evidence-based leadership. This book offers a clear blueprint for building on your existing skills and performance management systems to build a truly high performance organisation. Just three personal leadership habits and three organisation-wide habits can transform your organisation into the powerhouse you know it can be. With a simple methodology and a focus on practical results, this book can help you: Set a strategic direction that really does inspire organisational excellence Gain a true picture of your organisation's performance Master the habits that help you lead a high-performance culture Improve your organisation objectively, measurably and quickly If an organisation can only be as good as its leadership, it's reasonable to place the burden of performance responsibility on those who make the decisions. A leader's job is to inspire, motivate and guide, and those who do it well are already raising the bar. Prove It! gives you a practical model for measurable, real-world results, starting today.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
http://www.eeoc.gov
American Association for Affirmative Action
http://www.affirmativeaction.org
Documents and Publications
The ADA Primer for Small Business
Americans with Disabilities Act Web Search Portal
https://adata.org/ada-document-portal
U.S. Occupational and Health Administration
https://www.osha.gov/
Topics
Industrial Health and Hygiene News (trade journal)
Sample EBooks:
Occupational and Environmental Health: Recognizing and Preventing Disease and Injury
Occupational and environmental health is the public health and multidisciplinary approach to the recognition, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, and control of disease, injuries, and other adverse health conditions resulting from hazardous environmental exposures in the workplace, the home, or the community. These are essential elements of public health practice and the core course in Environmental Health in Masters of Public Health programs.Thoroughly updated and expanded upon, the sixth edition of Occupational and Environmental Health provides comprehensive coverage and a clear understanding of occupational and environmental health and its relationships to public health, environmental science, and governmental policy. New chapters include Toxicology, Risk Communication, Health Equity and Social Justice, Occupational and Environmental Health Surveillance, Food Safety, Protecting Disaster Rescue and Recovery Workers, Implementing Programs and Policies for a Healthy Workforce, and Addressing the Built Environment and Health. The authors also expand on chapters included in previous chapters, and the book features practical case studies, numerous tables, graphs, and photos, and annotated bibliographies.Reviews for previous editions:"This text goes a long way in meeting the need for a brief overview of the entire field. The quality of writing is in general excellent, and this is a physically attractive book. Chapters are concise and to the point. The use of illustrative cases in many of the chapters is a definite plus. This an excellent book and a mainstay for introductory courses in the field."--The American Journal of Industrial Medicine"It achieves a good blend of practical application, together with the elements of the supporting sciences, such as toxicology and epidemiology, as well the social context. It is a useful text to inform and support day-to-day practice, to educate students, and to help with examinations. If I had not received a reviewer's copy, i would have bought the book out of my own pocket."--Occupational and Environmental Medicine"The book is geared primarily to medical personnel and professionals, but it contains many chapters that would be of use to nearly everyone. It is a delight to read."--Journal of Community Health
Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver Fatigue, Long-Term Health, and Highway Safety
There are approximately 4,000 fatalities in crashes involving trucks and buses in the United States each year. Though estimates are wide-ranging, possibly 10 to 20 percent of these crashes might have involved fatigued drivers. The stresses associated with their particular jobs (irregular schedules, etc.) and the lifestyle that many truck and bus drivers lead, puts them at substantial risk for insufficient sleep and for developing short- and long-term health problems. Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver Fatigue, Long-Term Health and Highway Safety assesses the state of knowledge about the relationship of such factors as hours of driving, hours on duty, and periods of rest to the fatigue experienced by truck and bus drivers while driving and the implications for the safe operation of their vehicles. This report evaluates the relationship of these factors to drivers (TM) health over the longer term, and identifies improvements in data and research methods that can lead to better understanding in both areas.
Physical and Biological Hazards of the Workplace
Completely updated version this classic reference covers both physical hazards and biological agents Provides updated information on protecting workers from proven and possible health risks from manual material handling, extremes of temperature and pressure, ionizing and non-ionizing (magnetic fields) radiation, shiftwork, and more Details major changes in our understanding of biological hazards including Ebola, Chikungunya, Zika, HIV, Hepatitis C, Lyme disease, MERS-CoV, TB, and much more All infectious diseases have been updated from an occupational health perspective Includes practical guidance on to how to set up medical surveillance for hazards and suggests preventive measures that can be used to reduce occupational diseases
American Management Association
http://www.amanet.org
International Personnel Management Association
http://www.ipma-hr.org
Society for Human Resources Management
http://www.shrm.org
Leadership (see also leadership journals at bottom of box)
Leadership and Organizational Change
Sample EBooks
How Great Leaders Think
The proven model that offers powerful and elegant strategies for leaders How Great Leaders Think: the Art of Reframing uses compelling, contemporary examples to show how more complex thinking is the key to better leadership. Leaders who understand what's going on around them see what they need to do to achieve the results they want. Bolman and Deal's influential four-frame model of leadership and organizations--developed in their bestselling book, Reframing Organizations: Artistry Choice and Leadership--offers leaders an accessible guide for understanding four major aspects of organizational life: structure, people, politics, and culture. Tapping into the complexity enables leaders to decode the messy world in which they live, see more options, tell better stories, and find strategies that are more effective. Case examples of leaders like Jeff Bezos at Amazon, Howard Schultz at Starbucks, Tony Hsieh at Zappos, Ursula Burns at Xerox, and the late Steve Jobs at Apple provide concrete lessons that readers can put to use in their own leadership. The book's lessons include: How to use structural tools to organize teams and organizations for better results How to build motivation and morale by aligning organizations and people How to map the terrain and build a power base to navigate the political dynamics in organizations How to develop a leadership story that shapes culture, provides direction, and inspires commitment to excellence
A Class with Drucker
From 1975 to 1979, author William Cohen studied under one of the greatest management educators and thought-leaders of all time: Peter Drucker. What Drucker taught him literally changed his life. Now, in this warm and inspiring read, Cohen shares the insights he gained as the first-ever graduate of Drucker's doctoral program and teaches readers how Druker's game-changing ideas stand the test of time in the face of real-world workplace challenges today. A Class with Drucker shares many of Drucker's teachings that never made it into his countless books and articles--ideas that were offered to his students in classroom or informal settings. Cohen expands on Drucker's lessons with personal anecdotes about his teacher's personality, lack of pretension, and interactions with students and others. Having gone on from Drucker's teachings to become an Air Force general and eventually professor, management consultant, multibook author, and university president, Cohen is a testament to the lifechanging impact of Drucker's teachings and friendship. Enlightening and intriguing, this book allows you, too, to learn and grow from the timeless wisdom of a most inspiring man.
The AMA Handbook of Leadership
The AMA Handbook of Leadership features insights from best-of-the-best thought leaders and executive leadership coaches on topics from talent development, the arts and leadership, and competitive advantage through leadership, to leading across cultures, sustainability, executive transition, and many more timeless (and timely) issues. Filled with powerful examples and full case studies, the book includes previously unpublished articles from: Frances Hesselbein * R. Roosevelt Thomas, Jr. * Dave Ulrich * John (Jack) Zenger * Nancy J. Adler * John Baldoni * Judith M. Bardwick * Marshall Goldsmith * James F. Bolt * Marc Effron * Joe Folkman * Colin Gautrey * Paul Hersey * Maya Hu-Chan * Wendy Johnson * Beverly Kaye * Paula Kruger * Laurence S. Lyons * D. Quinn Mills * Howard Morgan * Luke Novelli, Jr. * Miriam Ort * Gary Ranker * Robert H. Rosen * Norm Smallwood * Andrew Sobel * Fons Trompenaars * Albert A. Vicere * Peter Woolliams * and Patricia Wheeler In a challenging business climate, enterprises look to their leaders. Some situations call for drastic change, while others require the fortitude to stay the course. Who better to help today's business leaders than the greatest leadership thinkers of our time?
Leadership Communication
My graduate students like this book's real-world focus on publicrelations as a strategic role in the C-suite. --Ron Culp, professionaldirector, Public Relations & Advertising graduate program,DePaul University; former Senior Vice President, Chief CommunicationOfficer, SearsLeadership in Communication is a cogent, bright, easily readabledefinition of what corporate communicators do. More than that, it'san uncommonly careful look at how strategic communication defines,drives, and creates value for a commercial enterprise--its employees,its owners, and those whom they serve. --James S. O'Rourke, IV,PhD, Professor of Management, Mendoza College of Business,University of Notre DameThe quality of leadership in any organization--business,social, military, and government--is enhanced or limited by thequality of its leadership communication. The authors assertthat leadership is given force by strategic communication thatproduces results required in competitive conditions. For theprofessional in enterprise communication, this brings intofocus two questions: What is the relevance of communicationin the leadership process of reaching best achievable outcomes(BAOs)? And, how does the primary communication professionalattain expert in uence and success in a leadership position?This book provides insights and guidance on functioning at thehighest levels of the corpo rate communications profession.
Leadership Journals (see also full list of management journals)
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
https://www.bls.gov/
Topics
Pay and Benefits
https://www.bls.gov/bls/wages.htm
Employment. National, State, Local
https://www.bls.gov/bls/employment.htm
Unemployment, Layoffs, etc.
https://www.bls.gov/bls/unemployment.htm
Workplace Injuries, Illness, and Fatalities
https://www.bls.gov/iif/
Business and Employment Costs
https://www.bls.gov/bls/business.htm
Occupations
https://www.bls.gov/bls/occupation.htm
Publications
News Releases, U.S. Bureau of Labor
https://www.bls.gov/bls/newsrels.htm
Includes the following types of data: employment and unemployment, prices and living conditions,
compensation and working conditions, productivity and technology, projections, regional, etc.
Employment Cost Trends
https://www.bls.gov/ncs/ect/
Includes expenditures for health care plans by employers and employees, employer costs for employee
compensation, employment cost index, etc.
Employee Benefits Survey
https://www.bls.gov/ncs/ebs/home.htm
National Compensation Survey. See especially "Publications," "Databases," and "Tables"
https://www.bls.gov/ncs/
Search Sample Employment/Labor Law Journals
