LibGuides: Business: International Business

"Global poverty can be solved by international business." Dr. Sergio Castello

Atlas of Economic Complexity (Harvard Growth Lab)
A research and data visualization tool that may be used to understand the economic dynamics and new growth opportunities for countries worldwide
Observatory of Economic Complexity (MIT/Datawheel)
An online data visualization and distribution platform focused on the geography and dynamics of economic activities. The OEC integrates and distributes data from a variety of sources to assist private- and public-sector, as well as academic analysts.

World Bank Open Data

https://data.worldbank.org/

search by keywords, for example, hospital, physicians, nurses, etc.; or browse by country or indicator

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Online Library

https://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/

OECD Data

https://stats.oecd.org

https://data.oecd.org/

United Nations Datasets

http://data.un.org/

http://data.un.org/Partners.aspx

United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online

https://unstats.un.org/unsd/mbs/app/DataSearchTable.aspx

European Commission Datasets

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/en/data/browse-statistics-by-theme

European Commission

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat

Online Atlas from Columbia International Affairs (CIAO) search by Country Name

Provides country-specific short, medium and long-term analysis and forecasts covering
economic growth, trade, politics, commodities and exchange rates, as well as proprietary
ratings on the business environment and regulatory analysis.

CIA World Factbook

(see "Searching Tips" for a full list of National Statistics Offices)

The Americas

Mexico

National Institute of Statistics and Geography

Brazil

Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatistica

India and Asia

India

National Statistics Office

https://data.gov.in/

Japan

National Statistics Center

https://www.e-stat.go.jp/en/

Singapore

Department of Statistics

https://www.singstat.gov.sg/

Middle East and Mediterranean

Iran

Statistical Center of Iran

https://www.amar.org.ir/english

Turkey

Turkish Statistical Institute

www.turkstat.gov.tr

Europe

United Kingdom

Office for National Statistics

https://www.ons.gov.uk/

France

Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques

https://www.insee.fr/en/accueil

Germany

National Statistics Office

https://www.destatis.de/EN/Home/_node.html

Italy

National Institute of Statistics

https://www.istat.it/en/

Italy Topics A-Z

https://www.istat.it/en/analysis-and-products/a-z-statistics

World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office for Europe

http://www.euro.who.int/en/home

Sample active physicians per 100K persons

Sample physicians per 100K population by country

World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office for Africa

https://www.afro.who.int/

World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office for the Western Pacific (China, Japan, Philippines, etc)

https://www.who.int/westernpacific/

World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean (Includes the Middle East and North Africa)

http://www.emro.who.int/index.html

World Health Organization (WHO) Regional Office for the Americas - Pan American Health Organization

https://www.paho.org/hq/index.php?lang=en

PAHO Health Topics and Data

European Health Information Gateway

https://gateway.euro.who.int

EHIG - Health for All Explorer

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/geographical-distribution-2019-ncov-cases

Global Health Security Index (a collaborative project of John's Hopkins University)

health security capabilities of 195 countries based on six variables: 1) prevention, 2) detection and reporting,
3) rapid response, 4) health system capability, 5) compliance with norms, and 6) risk environment

https://www.ghsindex.org/

European Health Information Gateway

Human and technical resources for health

European Health Information Gateway Country Profiles

https://gateway.euro.who.int/en/country-profiles/

OECD Country Health Profiles

http://www.oecd.org/health/country-health-profiles-eu.htm

Pan American Health Organization Country Profiles

https://www.paho.org/hq/index.php?option=com_wrapper&view=wrapper&Itemid=2005&lang=en

United Kingdom

National Health Service

https://www.nhs.uk/

France

Ministère des Solidarités et de la Santé

https://solidarites-sante.gouv.fr/

Mexico

Health and Social Security

Severe Acute Respiratory Infections Network of the Americas

http://www.sarinet.org/en

globalEDGE™ Michigan State University

https://globaledge.msu.edu/

A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide
to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

Searchable by industry, country, trading bloc, or state

US International Trade Administration Analyses for Countries and Industries

Explore Industries

Explore Countries

Trade and Industry Publications Search

Trade and Industry Publications Search (Business Source Premier)
This search is preconfigured to return trade and industry publications. Type a search term of your choice in the search box.

Poverty - International Monetary Fund

https://www.imf.org/external/np/prsp/prsp.aspx

Food and Agriculture Organization (United Nations)

Food Price Monitoring and Analysis

FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Data for 245 countries from 1961)

Explore data

Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs

Ethics & International Affairs

an effort to "integrate rigorous thinking about principles of justice and morality
into discussions of practical dilemmas related to current policy developments,
global institutional arrangements, and the conduct of . . . international actors."

Sample Journals

Caballero-Anthony, M. (Ed.). (2009). Pandemic Preparedness in Asia. Singapore:
S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies.

Visualizing the History of Pandemics

Coronavirus 2019 resources

includes a variety of data visualizations

World Happiness Report

Online Archive

Our World in Data (Harvard University)

Explore data

D & B Hoover's Business Online This link opens in a new window
D & B Hoovers delivers insightful information on more than 130 million businesses,
both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets. Search by Company Name, Executives, Industry or by using Conceptual Search and Business Signals. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Financial information on companies with competitor and industry information. Includes many smaller and private companies.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, "this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses." Full text of more than 2,100 business and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Also includes company information and market reports.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Company and industry information along with scholarly and general business periodicals.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window Contains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times, Le Monde. Updated daily.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic Newswatch covers full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Ethnic categories included are: African, American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native People.