HIS 120 Abolition & Antislavery Movements

Series 1: 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction
Series 2: 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement
From Readex, "From the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. ...From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Packed with information unavailable elsewhere, Black Life in America is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications.

The Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive contains 4 parts. The parts are, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Books, manuscripts, journals, are more tell the story of the transatlantic slave trade, abolition, emancipation, and the societal factors that contributed to it.

ATLA covers theology, philosophy, and ethics; world religions and religious studies; pastoral ministry, missions, ecumenical studies, church history; scriptures; culture and society; as well as archaeology and antiquities. ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. Citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. This database also contains the content of the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, which is no longer a stand-alone database.