Spirit of Inquiry Help Page

Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

Contains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times, Le Monde. Updated daily.

Search regional, national, and international newspapers, and full-text transcripts from television and radio news programs. The database offers all the same support that Academic Search Premier does (saving to folders, citations, etc.), and is updated daily.

Opposing Viewpoints covers a wide variety of topics, include social issues and controversies, and will organize the results of a keyword search into Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reference, News, Images, and many other categories. Another good starting place, with the opportunity for deeper research as well. The database has sharing and citation tools, and several other useful features.

The home page of Points of View Reference Center provides a large list of categories, such as Arts & Culture, Health & Medicine, Foreign Policy and many others, and then subdivisions within those categories. Clicking on any of the links here will take you to an Overview page offering history, context, alternative viewpoints and related items. This resource also functions as a searchable database similar to Academic Search Premier and provides the same support for saving, citations, etc. Use Points of View not just for research, but to find a topic you would like to research.