The Friends of the Spring Hill College Library is a volunteer group established to support and promote the Spring Hill College Library, Archives and Special Collections. The Friends raise and contribute funds through a variety of projects including the voluntary operation of the Book Nook used book store. The Friends encourage gifts and bequests of books and manuscripts to the Library and to the Archives and Special Collections and promote awareness of the Library and the college.
FRIENDS OF SPRING HILL COLLEGE LIBRARY
Since 1990 (29 years) the Friends have helped the Library through difficult times by benefitting students, academic programs, academic and administrative departments, and College events. We have:
The impact of these contributions on the campus has been phenomenal. It could be even more so with your support, so please consider becoming a member, and/or serving on the Board, or helping the Friends expand Book Nook hours.
Faculty/staff membership is $10.00, lowered both to recognize your personal fiscal concerns and to let you know you are needed.
Contact Library Director Gentry Holbert (email@example.com or 251.380.3871 or Friends President Dr. Alice Bahr, firstname.lastname@example.org or 251.533.7073) with any questions, comments and recommendations. Thank you for your time.
There’s an important role awaiting you in an organization that needs your talent. As Communications Coordinator you would
·write a short annual newsletter for members
·develop press releases to publicize events
·solicit media outlets to cover the organization’s history, focus and accomplishments
·work with Board members and library staff who maintain web pages, Facebook postings, and Twitter accounts
·evaluate other venues that could extend outreach and
·coordinate all outreach activities
If you are Interested, please contact Alice Bahr at email@example.com or 251.533.7073 for more details.
During the 2018-2019 academic year, the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library has several goals. These include:
Badger Roots Workshop: $25 for non-members
This workshop will help members explore their family roots at Spring Hill College. The workshop is free for members and $25 for non-members.
Increase Library Resources
Build the library offerings available to the campus
Subsidize speakers for other departments on campus
Need help funding a speaker for your department and students? Contact us and let us know!
Undergraduate Research Symposium: $500
Covers the supplies, support, and award amounts for the 2018-2019 Undergraduate Research Symposium.
During the 2017-2018 academic year, the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library made many contributions and gifts. These include:
Foley Community Service Center gift in memory of volunteer Chip Drago: $2500
Funds will be used to provide workbooks to support the ESL (English as a Second Language) program, where SHC students teach English to immigrants and refugees from all over the world.
JSTOR Collection in honor of former library director Alice Bahr: $26,250
Arts & Sciences II Collection digital journal collection in the humanities, social sciences, and sci of 759,339 articles in core research areas of Economics, History, Archaeology, classics, and area studies (Latin American, middle eastern, Slavic, African, and Asian).
Digitization of Yearbooks: $15,000
Yearbooks are being digitized and will be available in an online, searchable format to the public.
Civil War Prize Case Files from National Archives: $50
Correspondence during the Civil War between Father Gautrelet and Cuban students Nemisio and Ermesto Guillo were acquired as well as letters to family in Cuba during the Civil War blockade of Mobile Bay. The collection includes more than 20 handwritten letters in English, Spanish, and French.
Professional Development: $5,000
Funding to support library faculty & staff travel for conference presentations and papers, national organization committee work, and immersion programs that will benefit the College in supporting professional scholarship.
Undergraduate Research Symposium – Supplies, support, awards: $500
Save the date for the Annual Dinner! Please join us to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing in 1969:
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Byrne Memorial Hall
Book Auction and Cocktails at 6:30 pm
Dinner at 7:30 pm
Cost is $55 per person. Please RSVP by May 8, 2019.
Send reservation and check to:
Friends of SHC Library
3763 Old Shell Road, Unit B
Mobile, AL 36608-1394