Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Home

Spring Hill College Archives

 

 

Paul Morphy

The Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections house primary sources, artifacts, and publications relevant to the history of the college, its property, buildings, administration, faculty, and students. It is located on the 2nd Floor of Burke Memorial Library on the campus of the college.

Only a few items remain from the earliest years of the college, from 1830-1846, when it was a diocesan college under the the supervision of Bishop Michael Portier. But many documents exist from the early years of the Jesuits' time at the college.

Prominent among these early Jesuit items are:

  • Diaries of the Vice-President and the Minister of the Jesuit Community beginning in 1847
  • Handwritten registrations of students, entered upon their first appearance, which frequently give the names and addresses of their parents.
  • College Catalogues from 1847, though not every year is preserved
  • Student publications from as far back as 1891, consistently from 1900

Files are maintained on outstanding students.  Files are also maintained on campus buildings and grounds.  Thousands of photographs are preserved, but most of them are as yet unsorted and uncatalogued.  (Many are in albums, so that span of years can be assigned.)

Notable subjects include the world famous chess player of the 19th century, Paul Morphy, an alumnus, and Albert Foley, S.J., a professor of Sociology at the college made famous for his activities in the civil rights movement.

Archives Poll

Should Spring Hill College bring back the annual college yearbook?
Yes: 2853 votes (99.65%)
No: 10 votes (0.35%)
Total Votes: 2863

Contact the Archives

Spring Hill College Archives
Phone:  (251) 380-3870 / Fax: (251) 460-2090
Email : archives@shc.edu

Spring Hill College Flickr Account   Spring Hill College Archives Twitter Account   Spring Hill College Archives Facebook Account   Spring Hill College Archives Instagram Account   Spring Hill College Archives YouTube Account

Hours of Operation

HOURS OF OPERATION: 

By Appointment Only 

If you need immediate assistance please email Archives@shc.edu

TOURS AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT or DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS.  Family Research Must Have An Appointment Two Weeks In Advance. 

Archives Policies

  1. The Archives are open by appointment only. 
  2. Archival materials do not circulate.
  3. Photocopies may be made by the archivist, so long as the photocopying process does not damage the documents.
  4. Researchers who wish to visit the the archives in person are asked to set up an appointment in advance with the archivist.
  5. Researchers who wish to work with archival materials remotely may contact the archivist with the nature and scope of their research, and in many cases photocopies of specific materials can be provided. 
  6. Research requests via phone, fax and email generally have a 72 hour turnaround time.
Burke Memorial Library I Spring Hill College I 4000 Dauphin Street I Mobile, AL 36608 I 251-380-3870               PDFs require Adobe® Acrobat Reader®.