LibGuides: Education: EDU 326/562/563/565 Reading

Course descriptions

EDU 326 Foundations of Reading Instruction. Study of the foundation for and the acquisition of literacy, knowledge, techniques, and programs of reading instruction.

EDU 562 Trends and Practices in the Total Reading Program. Aids the teacher in gaining perspective and sound direction in reading; early education through advanced levels.

Reading journals

Search specific journals in the reading field.

Journal of adolescent & adult literacy International Reading Association.

Language arts National Council of Teachers of English

Reading improvement

Reading research quarterly International Reading Association.

Reading teacher International Reading Association.; International Council for the Improvement of Reading Instruction.

Leveled readers

Scott Foresman Reading Street ENGTXT 372.4 SCOT 2007. Education Library Room 183.

Words Their Way. Word Study in Action. ENGTXT 372.4 PEAR 2005. Multiple copies. In Stacks.

Literacy by Design. ENGTXT 372.4 RIGB 2008. Multiple copies. In Stacks.

Quickreads : a research-based fluency program ENGTXT 372.4 PEAR-Q. Multiple copies. In Stacks.

Guided reading

Guided Reading by Irene C. Fountas; Gay Su Pinnell; Mary Ellen Giacobbe (Foreword by)
Call Number: ENG 372.4 FOUN 1996
ISBN: 9780435088637
Publication Date: 1996-10-07
Grade K-3
Guiding Readers and Writers by Irene C. Fountas; Gay Su Pinnell
Call Number: ENG 372.4 FOUN 2001
ISBN: 9780325003108
Publication Date: 2000-11-13
(Grades 3-6)
Matching Books to Readers by Gay Su Pinnell; Irene C. Fountas
Call Number: LB1525 .F63 1999 (Burke Library)
ISBN: 9780325001937
Publication Date: 1999-07-06
This reference provides a comprehensive, up-to-date levelled reading list. Created with the input of hundreds of early literacy teachers, it compiles more than 7000 caption books, natural language texts, series books, and children's literature for kindergarten through grade three.

Personalized Anchor Charts: Bridging Small-Group Work to Independence
Article in Reading Teacher journal.

Lesson planning

ALEX standards for English Language Arts

Search Education Databases & E-Journals

Search for articles in our most popular education databases and general databases.

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete contains 1,100 periodicals for those studying in the field of education. It provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education and areas such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library is a collection of online databases that contain magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

Kids InfoBits
From Gale

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Search for articles, books, and media all at once.

Education

More guides

Print and electronic books, articles, videos, media in SHC libraries.

Girl writing