LibGuides: Education: EDU 325/531Language Arts

Course description.

EDU 325. The Language Arts Program (3)Language arts curriculum, teaching and media for children ages four through eleven. Laboratory experiences with children are an integral part of the course.

Related courses

EDU 325 The Language Arts Program

EDU 326 Foundations of Reading Instruction

EDU 328 Diagnosis and Adjustment of Reading Instruction

EDU 329 Reading in the Content Areas

EDU 531 Language Development and Activities for Early Childhood Education

EDU 562 Trends and Practices in the Total Reading Program

EDU 563 Analysis and Correction in Reading

EDU 565 Reading in the Content Areas

EDU 575 Essentials of Teaching Reading

EDU 581 Language Arts and Literature in the School Program

Standards

Alabama Course of Study for English/Language Arts

How to find books and articles

Databases and sample searches

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.

Sample searches in the databases.

"Phonics" or "Phonological Awareness" or "Phonemes" or "Phonemic Awareness"
Sample search from Proquest Education Journals database
"Writing instruction" or "Writing pedagogy" or "Teaching writing"
Sample search in Eric Via Ebsco database.

Digital Journals

You can also search for articles in specific e-journals.

IRC resources

Find books, kits, and objects in the IRC. Note that you can choose "Audience: Juvenile" to limit to children/YA books only.

Call number areas for shelf- browsing:

kits MEDIA 372.4

activity books ENG 372.4

textbooks ENGTXT 372.6 (general), 372.63 (spelling and vocabulary), 372.634 (handwriting)

children's information books C 423-428

Children's books in the content areas

Social Studies
Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People
Selected by a Book Review Committee appointed by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).
Science
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
Selected by a book review panel appointed by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).
English Language Arts
Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts.
Selected by the National Council of Teachers of English's Children's Literature Assembly.

Professional Organzation Websites

National Council of Teachers of English
Promotes the development of literacy, the use of language to construct personal and public worlds and to achieve full participation in society, through the learning and teaching of English and the related arts and sciences of language
International Literacy Association
Professional organization that promotes reading and literacy at all levels.
Children's Literature Association
This organization is dedicated to the scholarly study of children's literature.
Children's Book Council
Trade association for children’s trade book publishers. Check out the "Reading Lists" page and the "Author/Illustrator Directory" (a wonderful resource for author studies)!

Bibs and Blogs

Planet Esme
Reviews of new children/YA books

Education

More subject guides

Books in the IRC