LibGuides: Education: EDU 329 Reading in the Content Areas

EDU 329 Reading in the Content Areas

Assists the student in understanding the reading process and in developing skills and habits essential in teaching reading in content areas.

Search specific journals.

Social Studies
Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People
Selected by a Book Review Committee appointed by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).
Science
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
Selected by a book review panel appointed by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC).
English Language Arts
Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts.
Selected by the National Council of Teachers of English's Children's Literature Assembly.

Sample searches for books and articles:

(Your teaching field) -- Study and teaching (Secondary) Example: History -- Study and teaching (Secondary)

English -- Study and teaching (Secondary)

Search for articles in our most popular education databases and general databases.

Education Database (ProQuest Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 900 journals relating to the field of Education and the Social Sciences. Covers 1988-present and many are full text journals.
Educator's Reference Complete: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete contains 1,100 periodicals for those studying in the field of education. It provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education and areas such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc. Maintained by the US Department of Education.
Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library is a collection of online databases that contain magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.

Search for articles, books, and media all at once.

Teacher Education students show how to search databases