The Friends of the Spring Hill College Library are an active group. On this page, read through some of our previous activities, purchases for the library, and events that we have held.
Michael Portier (1795-1859) was SHC's founder and Mobile's first Roman Catholic bishop.
Born in France in 1795, he immigrated to the United States in 1817. After completing his studies at St. Mary's Seminary (Baltimore), he was ordained for the priesthood in the Diocese of St. Louis and was consecrated bishop in 1825. He remains today a central figure in Mobiles history. In addition to founding what is now Spring Hill College, he also established the Visitation Convent and girls' school in Mobile, oversaw construction of the Cathedral Basilica of the Immaculate Conception, and founded a hospital, presently known as Providence.
Representing a private collector, The Neal Auction Company (New Orleans) contacted the College to determine its interest in obtaining the Portier will. Immediately, the Friends of Spring Hill College Library purchased it. The will outlines the Bishop's wish to give his estate to Spring Hill College, and directs the College to provide $50 yearly to each of his two sisters. The document is housed in the College Library Archives.
By Facebook page for the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library:
https://www.facebook.com/shcfriendsofthelibrary
By Facebook page for the Book Nook at Spring Hill College:
https://www.facebook.com/BookNookatspringhillcollegelibrary
By Email:
By Phone:
251-380-2245
2018 - 2019
Funded Professional Development for Librarians
Adopted Library Books Honoring Past Friends' Presidents
Gave Supplies for Undergraduate Research Programs
Purchased a Portable Scanner for the Book Nook
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2017 - 2018
Foley Community Service Center gift in memory of volunteer Chip Drago: $2500
JSTOR Collection in honor of former library director Alice Bahr: $26,250
Digitization of Yearbooks: $15,000
Civil War Prize Case Files from National Archives: $50
Professional Development: $5,000
Undergraduate Research Symposium – Supplies, support, awards: $500
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2014
6,317 Book Nook books donated to the Library since 1991
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income since 1996 amounts to $48,282
Hosted Conversations with Dr. Neil Hamilton event
Co-sponsor of Boyle lecture for Jesmyn West
Co-sponsor of book signing for Dr. Michael Piafsky
Hosted Conversations with Carolyn Haines event
Hosted Conversations with Roy Hoffman event
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2013
Spanish, Theology, and Teacher Education books purchased
Library artwork framed
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Hosted Conversations with Manda Collins event
Hosted Conversations with Margaret Cunningham event
Hosted Conversations with Dr. Robert Harding event
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2012
3 rolling book carts donated
A-Z Link Source purchased
Boyle Student Research Awards funded ($750)
Professional Development for the Library Director funded
Bishop Portier Will purchased for the Rare Book Room
15 public access computers purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Hosted event with John Sledge, author of Southern Bound
Hosted Conversations with Carolyn Haines event, as R.B. Chesterton
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2011
Portrait of Dr. Charles Boyle donated to the Rare Book Room
Published books of Guest Speakers purchased
Book Nook signage and book carts purchased
$100 Student Award funded
$250 Undergraduate Award funded
Student Movie Night funded
Outreach Intern position funded
Congress and Nation Reference Materials purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2010
Web Scale Management System purchased
Year Books 1924 - 2011 digitized and scanned
e-Books for Nursing Department purchased
Student Scholarship funded
Twice Remembered reprinted
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
SHC Yearbooks from 1924 to 2011 digitized for the Rare Book Room
Hosted event with Don Marquis, Daniel Mainwaring
Hosted event with Frank Turner Hollon, author of The Wait
Hosted event with Greta and Dr. Andrew Sharp, author of Antebellum Myths
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2009
Began New Faculty book allowances
Scanner and software for the Archives purchased
Past Perfect software upgrade purchased
Intern software purchased
professional development for Librarians funded
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture purchased
Cultural History of Animals purchased
On the Line DVD Documentary purchase
PAIS database purchased
Philosopher's Index database purchased
Ignatian Spirituality funded for a librarian
Federated Searching funded
Text Messaging software purchased
Library Guides purchased
Motley publication funded
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Fr. Daniel Creagan painting purchased for the Rare Book Room
Archival Office shelving purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted event with Maurice Gandy, author of Calpocalypse
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2008
Faculy Area Grants (11 funded at $500 each)
Britannica & Judaica Encyclopedias purchased
5 reference computers purchased
JSTOR online Arts & Science #1 purchased
$1,000 worth of videos purchased
Spring Hill College Catalogs from 1847 - 1910 (7 volumes) digitized and binded
Hand-written books by Fr. Cornette, S.J., and Dr. Roumer digitized and binded
High-End Photo Printer/Scanner purchased for Archives
Literature purchased for the Rare Book Room
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Spring Hill College Catalogs from 1840 - 1978 preserved in the Rare Book Room
Special Collection books bound fo the Rare Book Room
Power Vault and Photo Scanner purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted Southern Writes: Fiction & Poetry event by Beth Ann Fennelly
Hosted Barry Lyndon Tom Loehr Lecture & Film event
Hosted lecture by author and humorist Thomas Lakeman
Hosted Celebration of Fiction with Frank Turner Hollon
Hosted event with Magaret Cunningham, author of Lily in Bloom
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted the Bargain Hunter 1/4 Sale in May
2007
22 Mozart CDs purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Literature online database purchased for the Rare Book Room
7 Special Collections of Spring Hill College catalogs from 1847 to 1915 digitized and bound
Portrait of St. Ignatius by Father Creagan, S.J. purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted Southern Writes: Fiction & Poetry event by Michael Knight
Hosted Early Printed Book event by Dr. Robert Bantens
Hosted Whatever Remembers Us poetry reading by Sue Walker
Hosted J.D. Crowe, Cartoonist event
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
2006
Lion Research Tool purchased
Hard drive of web server replaced
Library of Congress Authority Files purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Archival Scanner and Equipment purchased
Opt plex (Past Perfect) Program purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted Exploring the DaVinci Code event by Dr. Tim Carmody
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted A Celebration of Mobile's Own, featuring Watt Key, John Sledge, and Shelia Hagler
Hosted the Reopening Sale on March 4
2005
Rare Book Room Materials and Books purchased
$2,000 of DVDs and Videos purchased for the Library
Motley publication funded
Literature purchased for the Rare Book Room
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Restored Student Registrar and Jesuit Diaries from 1840 to 1978
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted One Hundred Seventy-Five Years of Books, featuring Dr. Charles Boyle and Martin Lanaux
Hosted Coming Home with Alabama Writers, featuring Frye Gaillard and Sonny Brewer
Hosted the Moving Sale for March 3-5
2004
Faculty Wish List Project funds amount to $2,421.30
DVD Collection established ($1,000 per year)
Burke Library Opening
Library Capital Fund Drive
Motley publication funded
Literature purchased for the Rare Book Room
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Capital Fund Drive for the Burke Library
Brown Bag Book Sales
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Adopted the Archives in honor of Dr. Charles Boyle
Adopted the Systems Librarian Office in honor of Rev. Patrick Quinn, S.J.
Adopted the Hospitality Kitchen
Published Gleanings by Dr. Charles Boyle
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted Rewriting Shakespeare dinner, featuring Fred Baldwin, director
Hosted the Spring Fever Book Sale in June
Hosted the Bibliophile Bash in November
2003
Faculty Wish List Project funds amount to $2,612.75
Library Capital Fund Drive
Literature purchased for the Rare Book Room
Shakespeare Fund Raiser
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Capital Fund Drive for the Burke Library
Brown Bag Book Sales
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted Southern Voices: A Literary Evening with John Sledge and Shelia Hagler
Hosted Literary Conversations with Alabama Mystery Writers, featuring Brewster Milton Robinson and Suzanne Hudson
Held the Brown Bag Book Sale in December
2002
Portable Inventory Scanner purchased
Book Security System replaced
Book Nook upgraded
Literature purchased for the Rare Book Room
Shakespeare Fund Raiser
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Mobile Collection books purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted Literary Conversations with Alabama Women Writers, featuring Carolyn Haines and Cynthia Williams
Hosted Southern Voices: A Literary Evening with John Sledge and Shelia Hagler
Hosted Dining with Shakespeare Dinner by Fred Baldwin, director
2001
Library signage upgraded
Foley papers purchased for the Archives
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions income
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted Literary Conversations with Emerging Alabama Writers events, featuring Tom Franklin and Frank Turner Hollon
Hosted Literary Conversations with Alabama Women Writers, featuring Melinda Haynes
Hosted Southern Voices: A Literary Evening with Kathryn Tucker Wyndom
2000
Rare Book Room moved to Burke Memorial Library
Laptop for the Accessible Reference Area purchased
Laptop computer purchased for staff member
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions
published Father Ryan's Poems complied by Bob Bahr, Ed.
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted Literary Conversations with Emerging Alabama Writers events, featuring Michael Knight and Ben Erickson
1999
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
1998
NT Server purchased
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions
Supplies purchased for the Rare Book Room
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Published Sound Mind, Sound Body by Dr. Charles Boyle
Hosted An Intimate Portrait of Vivian Smallwood event
1997
Reference material purchased (started in 1996)
Two fax machines purchased (started in 1996)
Matching grant for ARIEL (started in 1996)
QMS Laser Printer donated (started in 1996)
8 Pentium computers purchased (started in 1996)
Reading Room shelving purchased
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions
Published Sound Mind, Sound Body by Dr. Charles Boyle
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted the Clara and Robert Schumann Concert
1996
Memorial/Honoree Book Project started
Reading Room shelving purchased
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Memorial and Honoree adoptions
Published Blank Book
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted the Franz Schubert Concert
1995
Faculty Wish List project awarded amounts to $1,393.51
Portable Data Projector purchased
Rare Book Room opened
Equipment and supplies purchased for the Rare Book Room
Library Student Assistant Award funded
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Held the Festival of Flowers Book Sale
1994
National Library Conference sponsored
Reading Room chairs and shelving for Byrne Library purchased
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted the Evan Ira Farber Conference on library instruction
Hosted Book Binder Workshop by Silvia Rennie
1993
Book Nook opening
Established funding for the Mobile Collection ($200 per year)
Photocopier purchased
Jane Austen Collection purchased
Faculty Wish List books purchased
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Published Twice Remembered by Dr. Charles Boyle
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted poet Yevgeny Yevtushenko film and lecture
Hosted the Shalom Cuban Choir in St. Joseph Chapel
Hosted Dr. Charles Boyle for his Twice Remembered publication
1992
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Hosted Annual Dinner with book auction
Hosted the Lewis Carrol Program in the Math and Science Building
Hosted a Literary Evening with Dr. Diane Roberts, author of St. Elmo
Hosted the Augusta Evan Wilson Lecture, celebrating the reissue of St. Elmo
Hosted the Book Nook opening
Held the Pizza Piazza Book Sale in November
1991
Annual Dinner established with book auction
Festival of the Book Fundraiser held
Front porch benches and urns donated
Byrne Library Lobby restored
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Hosted Mobile Bay Tales by Mobile and Alabama Poets
Samuel Peck by John Hafner
Eugene Walter by Charles Smoke
John Finley by Jeffrey Goodman
Father Abraham Rayan by Margaret Davis
1990
Friends of the Library established
Rare Book Room opened in Byrne Library
Equipment purchased for the Rare Book Room
Materials for Rare Book Room preserved
Literary Lecture Series started
First Used Book Sale (held in Stewartfield)
Book Nook books donated to the Library
Hosted the Tribute to Juanita Helmar event by Robert Bahr
Hosted the Eugene Walter event, with author's selected reading of his works
Hosted the Festival of the Book Exhibition
Held the First Book Sale in Stewartfield
For more information on the first 25 years of the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library: