LibGuides: Western Civilization--European History, Empire: French Revolution and Napoleon

A Primer for Library Research

See Especially Works by These Historians
François Furet, Keith Michael Baker, Jack R. Censer, Mona Ozouf, Lynn Hunt most notably;

also Colin Jones, Michel Vovelle, Colin Lucas, Robert Darnton, Sarah Maza, Roger Chartier, Michelle Perrot, and Dale Van Kley.

Furet, François, and Mona Ozouf. A Critical Dictionary of
the French Revolution. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard, 1989.
DC148 .D5313 1989 Reference Fl. 1

A collection of essays covering virtually every aspect of the French Revolution. Organized by key words and themes under five major headings: events ; actors (individuals, groups) ; institutions ; ideas ; historians and commentators.

France - History - Revolution, 1789-1799 Historiography

Samples:

Hérubel, Jean-Pierre. “Recent Articles on French History.” French Historical Studies 40, no. 3 (2017): 539–50. (see below)

Kates, Gary. The French Revolution : Recent Debates and New Controversies. London: Taylor & Francis, 2002. EBook

Mousnier, Roland. The Institutions of France under the Absolute Monarchy 1598-1789. Chicago: University of Chicago, 1984. (2 vols.)

Sample:

Maza, Sarah C. The Myth of the French Bourgeoisie: An Essay on the Social Imaginary, 1750-1850. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 2003

Recent Articles on French History

Person as author

Example:

au:Robespierre, Maximilien

LC Subject Headings for primary sources

[search concept] AND su:sources
[search concept] AND su:personal narratives
[person] AND su:correspondence

Antoinette, Marie AND su:correspondence

Example: French Revolution, 1789-1799 AND su:sources

Garnham, B. G. The Intellectual Background of the French Revolution: Original Texts of "Les Idéologues," 1789-1825,
with an Interpretive Commentary. Lewiston N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, 2007.

English translations of sixty-eight texts from a group of intellectuals known as the 'Ideologues' covering
political economy, legislation, religion and morality, education, etc.

Claeys, Gregory. The Political Writings of the 1790s: The French Revolution Debate in Britain.
London: Pickering & Chatto, 1995.

Example: Convention nationale AND su:sources

Seze, Raymond de. The Oration of Desèze, in Defence of Lewis the Sixteenth, King of France ; Pronounced at the
Bar of the National Convention . . Translated from the French Original, Printed and Published by Order of the
Convention. London: C. Dilly, 1793.

Example: French Revolution AND su:personal narratives

Cléry. A Journal of Occurrences at the Temple, During the Confinement of Louis XVI: King of France.
Translated ... by R.C. Dallas. London: Printed by Baylis, 1798.
https://bit.ly/2RMz2zF

Example: Girondists AND su:personal narratives

An Appeal to Impartial Posterity by Madame Rolande . . . written during her
confinement in prisons of the Abbey . . . translated from the French. New York: Robert
Wilson, 1798. From Hathitrust https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000606514

   Hunt, Lynn, and Jack Censer. Liberty, Equality, Fraternity:
   Exploring the French Revolution. American Social History
   Productions, 2001

   An extraordinary archive of some of the most important
   documentary evidence from the Revolution, including
   texts, images, maps, and songs.

catalog.hathitrust.org

Newberry Library French Revolution Pamphlet Collection
https://bit.ly/2jdR9wL

Stanford University French Revolution Digital Archive
Images https://exhibits.stanford.edu/frenchrevolution

Archives parlementaires
https://sul-philologic.stanford.edu/philologic/archparl/

su:France History Revolution 1789-1799

--causes
--women
--societies
--historiography
--bibliography

France
Paris

--18^th century
--1789-1799
--1792-1804

--Rural conditions
--Social conditions
--Politics and government
--Economic conditions
--Working class
--Wages
--Slavery Colonies
--Religious aspects
--Catholic Church
--Reign of Terror, 1793-1794
--Agriculture

--First Republic, 1792-1804
--Coup d'etat, 1799
--Consulate and First Empire, 1799-1815
-- Napoleonic Wars, 1800-1815

Samples

Allen, Edward A. “The ‘Patriot’ Curés of 1789 and the
‘Constitutional’ Curés of 1791: A Comparison.” Church
History 54, no. 4 (1985): 473–81.

Andrews, Richard Mowery. "Social Structures, Political
Elites and Ideology in Revolutionary Paris, 1792-94: A
Critical Evaluation of Albert Soboul's "Les Sans-
culottes Parisiens En L'an II"." Journal of Social History
19, no. 1 (1985): 71-112.

Crook, Malcolm. "Citizen Bishops: Episcopal Elections
in the French Revolution." The Historical Journal 43,
no. 4 (2000): 955-76.

Hale, Matthew Rainbow. "On Their Tiptoes: Political Time and Newspapers during the Advent of the Radicalized French Revolution,
circa 1792-1793." Journal of the Early Republic 29, no. 2 (2009): 191-218.

Popkin, Jeremy D. “Thermidor, Slavery, and the ‘Affaire Des Colonies’.” French Historical Studies 38, no. 1
(2015): 61–82.

Rudé, George E. "Prices, Wages and Popular Movements in Paris during the French Revolution."
The Economic History Review, New Series, 6, no. 3 (1954): 246-67.

Sommer, Heather J. “ ‘To Weep over His Faults and His Fate’: America’s Political Factions on the
Trial and Execution of Louis XVI.” History Matters 13 (2016): 117–39.

Steinberg, Ronen. “Terror on Trial: Accountability, Transitional Justice, and the Affaire Le Bon in
Thermidorian France.” French Historical Studies 39, no. 3 (2016): 419–44.

Groups, i.e.

   Sans-culottes
   Jacobins (Cordeliers, etc.)
   Girondists
   Amis de la Verité
   Les Montagnards
   Parti patriote

Things, Events, etc.

   Ecclesiastical oath (1791)
   National Convention (Convention nationale)
   Thermidorian Convention
   Maupeou affair
   Lettres Patentes du Rois portant Reglement pour le
       Commerce de Colonies Francoises
   Civil Constitution of the Clergy
   X,Y,Z Affair
   Quasi-War (1798-1800) Franco-American War 1798-1800

Also use: United States War with France 1798-1800

People

Madame de Stael

Search H-Net Reviews

Recent books on the French Revolution

Sample:

   Dubois, Laurent. A Colony of Citizens: Revolution & Slave
   Emancipation in the French Caribbean, 1787-1804.
   Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina, 2004.

The American Historical Association’s Guide to Historical
Literature, 3^rd ed. New York: Oxford, 1995.

See section 25 entries under these headings:

   Cultural and Intellectual History         1715-1789
   Politics and Government                     1715-1789
   Religion                                                  1715-1789
   Economy and Society                           1715-1789

See also section 26, especially entries under these headings:

Political History French Revolution 1799-1814/15
Education and Scientific Institutions
Religion
Rural, Regional, and Urban History
Women and Gender

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a sociology research database that database features more than 2.1 million records. There are over 1,300 core journals with coverage from 1895 - present.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for leading history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies of historical figures, as well as historical photos and maps and historical film and video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is our most comprehensive interdisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles. For each journal included in JSTOR, it includes the full-run of the journal, from its beginning up until the most recent 3-5 years. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as history, literature, biology, business, and African-American studies.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
ATLA covers theology, philosophy, and ethics; world religions and religious studies; pastoral ministry, missions, ecumenical studies, church history; scriptures; culture and society; as well as archaeology and antiquities. ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. Citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. This database also contains the content of the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, which is no longer a stand-alone database.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
From EBSCO, "this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses." Full text of more than 2,100 business and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Also includes company information and market reports.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is an excellent multidisciplinary research database that contains scholarly journals as well as magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. Much of the content is full text.
London Times Digital Archive: 1785-Onwards This link opens in a new window
The London Times is the old continuously produced newspaper and this full text edition of the paper features news from the eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-centuries.