Suggested Sources
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages online version
Deliyannis, Deborah M. Historiography in the Middle Ages. Leiden: Brill, 2003.
Strayer, Joseph R. Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 14 vols.
New York: Scribner, 1982. D114 .D5 Reference Fl.1
McKitterick, Rosamond. The New Cambridge Medieval History. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 1995. D117 .N48 Reference Fl.1
Oxford Reference Online (Premium Collection)
Specialized reference collection including Oxford Histories, Oxford Companions, Encyclopedia, timelines and maps
Lapidge, Michael. The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England, 2nd ed. John Wiley & Sons, 2013.
Maps and Geography
MacKay, Angus, and David Ditchburn. Atlas of Medieval Europe. London: Routledge, 1997.
Subject: Medieval geography
Subject: Medieval maps
Monarchy, comprehensive
Great Britain Kings and rulers
Great Britain and France
Anglo-Saxons, Kings and rulers
John, King of England, 1167-1216
Henry I, King of England, 1068-1135
Henry II, King of England, 1133-1189
Richard I, King of England, 1157-1199
Louis VII, King of France, 1137-1180
Spain
Crown of Aragon, etc.
Islamic Empire / Caliphate
Saladin, Sultan of Egypt and Syria, 1137-1193
Europe 
Subject: Europe History 392-814
Spain
Subject: Spain History 711-1516
France
Subject: France AND History AND To 987
Subject: Merovingians
Subject: Carolingians
Subject: Capetians
Subject: Valois
England
Subject: Great Britain Anglo-Saxon period 449-1066
Subject: England History to 1066
Subject: England Norman period 1066-1154
Subject: England Civilization 1066-1485
Germany
Subject: Germany History to 1517
Scandanavia
Subject: Vikings
Islamic Empire
The Andalusian Epic: Islamic Spain
Subject: Islamic empire History 750-1258
Subject: Abbasid caliphate
Medieval History and Civilization, etc. 
Schulman, Jana K, ed. The Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300 : A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Cook, William R., and Ronald B. Herzman. The Medieval World View: An Introduction. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. CB351 .C58 2004 Fl. 2
Subject: Middle Ages History
Subject: Civilization, Medieval
Feudalism
Backman, Clifford R. The Worlds of Medieval Europe.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Subject: Feudalism and Europe
Medieval Social Conditions
Thompson, James Westfall. Economic and Social History of Europe in the Later Middle Ages (1300-1530).
New York: F. Ungar Pub. Co, 1960. D117 .T53 1960 Fl. 2
Subject: Social history and Medieval, 500-1500
Subject: Europe and Social conditions to 1492
Medieval Commerce
Subject: Medieval commerce 500-1500
Black Death
Cohn, Samuel Kline. Remembrance and the Black Death: Six Renaissance Cities in Central Italy.
Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1992. HN475 .C59 1992 Fl. 2
Spread of the Black Death (map)
Subject: Black death
Art [filter by source type as needed]
Turner, Jane. The Dictionary of Art. 34 vols. New York: Grove, 1996. N31 .D5 Reference Fl.1
Subject: Art, Medieval
Subject: Christian art and symbolism
Subject: Gothic art
Subject: Gothic architecture
See also headings for cathedrals, stained glass, Giotto, etc in the adjacent boxes
Music
Sadie, Stanley, and John Tyrrell. The New Grove
Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
29 vols. New York: Grove, 2001. ML100 .N48 29 Reference Fl.1
The New Oxford History of Music. vol 2, Early Middle Ages to 1300. Ed. by A. Hughes.
ML160 .N44 Reference Fl.1
Literature
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co, 1988.108 vols.
PN610 .C53 Reference Fl.1
Gray, Douglas. The Oxford Companion to Chaucer. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
PR1924 .O94 Reference Fl.1
Lambdin, Laura C., and Robert T. Lambdin. Chaucer's Pilgrims: An Historical Guide to the
Pilgrims in The Canterbury Tales. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
PR1875 .O26 C48 Reference Fl.1
Lacy, Norris J., and Geoffrey Ashe. The Arthurian Handbook. New York: Garland, 1988.
PN685 .L3 Reference Fl.1
Subject: Literature, Medieval
Religion, Philosophy, etc.
Levillain, Philippe. The Papacy: An Encyclopedia. 3 vols. New York: Routledge, 2002.
BX955.2 .D53 Reference Fl.1
Craig, Edward. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998.
B51 .R68 10 vols. Reference Fl.1
Adamson, Peter, and Richard C. Taylor. The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy.
Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
B741 ,C36 Reference Fl.1
Subject: Philosophy, Medieval
Women
Subject: Women AND Middle ages, 500-1500
Medicine
Subject: Medicine, Medieval
Military History
Holmes, Richard, Hew Strachan, and Hugh Bicheno. The Oxford Companion to Military History.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. (Online)
The Magna Carta clause by clause with
commentary
Code of Chivalry: Caste Solidarity
(video segment. BBC 2008)
For Gothic cathedrals, Gothic architecture use Architecture, Gothic
For names of specific cathedrals use the name of the cathedral
Example: Chartres or Riems
For books about cathedrals in a specific country use Cathedrals AND (Name of country)
Example: Cathedrals AND France
Crusades (comprehensive) 
Riley-Smith, Jonathan. Oxford Illustrated History of the Crusades. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Hillenbrand, Carole. The Crusades: Islamic Perspectives. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999. DS38.6 .H55 1999 Fl. 2
Mallett, Alexander. Medieval Muslim Historians and the Franks in the Levant. Leiden: BRILL, 2014.
Tyerman, Christopher. The Debate on the Crusades, 1099-2010. Oxford: Manchester University Press, 2011.
Subject: Crusades
First Crusade
Tasso, Torquato, and Anthony M. Esolen. Jerusalem Delivered (Gerusalemme Liberata). Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2000.
Frankopan, Peter. The First Crusade: The Call from the East. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2012.
Symes, Carol. "Popular Literacies and the First Historians of the First Crusade." Past & Present. 235 (2017):37-67.
Subject: Crusades, First 1096-1099
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Fordham University
Manuscripts from the Labyrinth Project Georgetown University
Early Manuscripts at Oxford University complete manuscripts from the various Colleges of Oxford University scanned directly from the originals
Luttrell Psalter lavish illustrations of everyday medieval life
Lindesfarne Gospels the pinnacle of Anglo-Saxon art
