Markarian, Vania. “Debating Tlatelolco: Thirty Years of Public Debates
about the Mexican Student Movement of 1968.” In Taking Back the
Academy! History of Activism, History as Activism, edited by
Jim Downs, 25-34. New York: Routledge, 2004.
Poniatowska, Elena. Massacre in Mexico. Columbia: University of
Missouri Press, 1991.
-------. La Noche De Tlatelolco: Testimonios De Historia Oral.
México, D.F: Ediciones Era, 1998. LA 430 .T55 P6 1998 Fl. 2
Search the full online catalog
Cohen, Robert. Freedom's Orator: Mario Savio and the
Radical Legacy of the 1960s. Oxford, 2009.
Freeman, Jo. At Berkeley in the Sixties : the Education
of an Activist, 1961-1965. Indiana University Press, 2004.
Cohen, Robert, and Reginald E. Zelnik. The Free Speech
Movement: Reflections on Berkeley in the 1960s. Berkeley:
University of California Press, 2002.
Search the full online catalog
Berkeley vs Governor Ronald Reagan (from Historic NYT)
Life Magazine (Sept. 21, 1953-Dec. 29, 1972)
(be certain to click the box marked "search all issues")
The Eagle (American University Student Newspaper)
Rolling Stone Index: Twenty-five years of Popular Culture 1967-1991
AI 21 .R65 1993 REFERENCE (Fl. 1)
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature.
AI 3 .R48 REFERENCE (Fl. 1) 1925-2004.
Sample results—student activism and Mexico
Sample results—Mexico and 1968
Sample results--Tlatelolco Massacre
Boler, John F. "Behind the Protests at Berkeley." Commonweal 81, no. 19 (1965): 602-605.
Turner, Wallace. 1964. "Berkeley Students Stage Sit-in to Protest Curb on Free Speech." New York Times Dec. 3, 1964.
Documentary and Archival Film
Tlatelolco
Mexico's 1968 Massacre: What Really Happened?
(All Things Considered, NPR; December 1, 2008)
Elena Poniatowska: Genre of Collective Testimony.
Gustavo Diaz Ordaz and ’68. Films Media Group, 1998. (in Spanish)
El Grito, Documental del Movimiento Estudantil, Mexico 1968, UNAM.
(removed for copyright)
Berkeley
Berkeley in the Sixties (Films Media Group, 1990)
Jack Weinberg (October 1, 1964)
The Free Speech Movement: Civil Disobedience in Berkeley 1964
Clip from "Decision in the Streets" (1965)
Recommended Scholarly Journals
Hispanic American Historical Review (Duke University Press)
The Americas (Cambridge University Press)
Bulletin of Latin American Research
Latin American Research Review
Journal of Latin American Studies
Radical History Review
Journal of American Studies
Recommended Magazines
New Republic
Dissent Magazine
Ramparts Magazine
Monthly Review
Partisan Review
Tlatelolco Massacre, Mexico City 1968
Keywords: Tlatelolco massacre; student activism; Mexico; “Movimiento Estudiantil”;
National Autonomous University of Mexico; UNAM
Sample scholarly article
Liebman, Arthur. “Student Activism in Mexico.” In Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science: Students Protest, edited by Philip G. Altbach, 159-171. Philadelphia, PA: American Academy of Political and Social Science, 1971.
Frazier, Lessie J. "Mexico '68: Defining the Space of the Movement, Heroic Masculinity in the Prison, and "women" in the Streets." Hispanic American Historical Review. 83 (2003): 617-660.
Harris, Chris. "Luis González de Alba's Los días y los años (1971) and Elena Poniatowska's La noche de Tlatelolco (1971): Foundational Representations of Mexico ’68." Bulletin Of Latin American Research 29, suppl. no. 1 (2010): 107-127. http://bit.ly/1LcXfEq
Free-Speech Movement University of California, Berkeley
Keywords: Free Speech Movement; FSM; student activism; student protests; Students for a Democratic Society; Berkeley; Mario Savio; Stanley Fish; Jack Weinberg
Sample Scholarly article
Draper, Hal and Nathan Glazer, "FSM: Freedom Fighters or Misguided Rebels?" New Politics 4 (1965): 25-51.
Gatti, Arthur. "Mario Savio's Religious Influences and Origins." Radical History Review 71 (1998): 122-132.
Hijiya, James A. "The Free Speech Movement and the Heroic Moment." Journal of American Studies 22, no. 1 (1988): 43-65.
Spring Hill College Digital Collections
https://libguides.shc.edu/digitalcollections/home
Includes the Springhillian, Yearbooks, College catalogs, the Torch,
and several student literary publications
Free-Speech Movement
Free Speech Movement Archives http://www.fsm-a.org/
*Free Speech Movement (FSM) Digital Archives
(Bancroft Library, UC-Berkeley)
http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/FSM/
Free Speech Movement Photographs Collection
(from Online Archive of California)
Tlateloco Massacre
Doyle, Kate. “Tlatelolco Massacre: Declassified U.S. Documents on Mexico and the Events of 1968. “ National Security Archive, The George Washington University, 2005-2011. Web 10 Sept. 2015. http://nsarchive.gwu.edu/NSAEBB/NSAEBB10/nsaebb10.htm
Poniatowska, Elena. La Noche De Tlatelolco: Testimonios De Historia Oral. México, D.F: Ediciones Era, 1998.
LA 430 .T55 P6 1998 Fl. 2
Decade Studies
Historiography of the Sixties
Articles from JSTOR
Heale, M. J. "The Sixties as History: A Review of the Political Historiography." Reviews in American History 33, no. 1 (2005): 133-52.
http://www.jstor.org/stable/30031497
Gosse, Van. "Consensus and Contradiction in Textbook Treatments of the Sixties." The Journal of American History 82, no. 2 (1995): 658-69. http://www.jstor.org/stable/2082198