SHC Discovery (the Burke Library Search Engine)
Sample result:
Pócs, Éva, et al. Witchcraft Mythologies and Persecutions. Demons, Spirits, Witches, vol. 3. New York: Central European University Press, 2008.
Levack, Brian P. The Devil Within : Possession & Exorcism in the Christian West. New Haven:
Yale University Press, 2013.
Maxwell-Stuart, P. G. The Occult in Early Modern Europe : A Documentary History. New York:
St. Martin's Press, 1999. BF 1429 .O27 1999 Fl. 2
Witchcraft
Ankarloo, Bengt, et al. Witchcraft and Magic in Europe: The Period of the Witch Trials. London: Athlone, 2002.
Ankarloo, Bengt, et al. Witchcraft and Magic in Europe: The Middle Ages. London: Athlone Press, 2002.
Durrant, Jonathan B, and Michael David Bailey. Historical Dictionary of Witchcraft. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
Levack, Brian P. Witchcraft Sourcebook. 2nd ed. Taylor and Francis, 2015.
Levack, Brian P. The Oxford Handbook of Witchcraft in Early Modern Europe and Colonial America. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. BF1571 .O94 2013 Fl. 1 Reference
Levin, Carole, ed. A Biographical Encyclopedia of Early Modern Englishwomen : Exemplary Lives and Memorable Acts, 1500-1650. London: Routledge, 2017.
Apps, Lara. Male Witches in Early Modern Europe. Manchester University Press, 2003.
General Reference
Carney, Jo Eldridge. Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620 : A Biographical Dictionary. Greenwood Press, 2001.
Commire, Anne, and Deborah Klezmer. Women in World History : A Biographical Encyclopedia. 17 vols.
Waterford, CT: Yorkin Publications, 1999. HQ 1115 .W6 1999 Fl. 1 Reference
Hillerbrand, Hans Joachim. The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation. 4 vols. (online version is below)
New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. BR302.8 .O93 1996 Fl. 1 Reference
New Catholic Encyclopedia. 19 vols. New York: McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1967-2003.
BX841 .N44 2003 Fl. 1 Reference
Britannica Academic. (from the Alabama Virtual Library).
The Inquisition and Witchcraft
Goodare, Julian. The European Witch-Hunt. London: Routledge, 2016.
Levack, Brian P. The Witch-Hunt in Early Modern Europe. 3rd ed. Harlow, England: Pearson Longman, 2006. BF 1571 .L48 2006 Fl. 2
Pavlac, Brian Alexander. Witch Hunts in the Western World : Persecution and Punishment from the Inquisition through the Salem Trials. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2009.
Spain
Henningsen, Gustav. The Salazar Documents: Inquisitor
Alonso De Salazar Frías and others on the Basque Witch Persecution. Leiden: Brill, 2004.
Germany
Dillinger, Johannes. "Evil People" : A Comparative Study of Witch Hunts in Swabian Austria and the Electorate of Trier. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2009.
(Johannes von Schonenberg, for example, was Elector of Trier)
France
Pearl, Jonathan L. The Crime of Crimes : Demonology and Politics in France, 1560-1620. Waterloo, ON: Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 1999.
see chapter 7: "Pierre de lancre"
Pearl, Jonathan L. “French Catholic Demonologists and Their Enemies in the Late 16th and Early 17th Centuries.” Church History 52, no. 4 (1983): 457–67.
Scotland
Trials (Witchcraft) History to 1500
Trials (Heresy) History to 1500
Trials (Witchcraft) Germany
Sample results
Ankarloo, Bengt, et al. The Period of the Witch Trials. London: Athlone, 2002.
Dillinger, Johannes. "Evil People" : A Comparative Study
of Witch Hunts in Swabian Austria and the Electorate of Trier. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2009.
Rapley, Robert. Witch Hunts : From Salem to Guantanamo Bay. Montreal Que.: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2007.
See pt. 1: Witches and fear of the devil -- The Bamberg and Wurzburg witch hunts, 1626-1630
Germany
[P] Spee, Friedrich Von, and Marcus Hellyer. Cautio Criminalis, or, a Book on Witch Trials.
Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2003.
Krause, Virginia. Witchcraft, Demonology, and Confession in Early Modern France.
New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2015.
Schutte, Anne Jacobson. Aspiring Saints : Pretense of Holiness,
Inquisition, and Gender in the Republic of Venice, 1618-1750.
Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001.
Levack, Brian P, ed. New Perspectives on Witchcraft, Magic and
Demonology. Witchcraft in the British Isles and New England.
New York: Routledge, 2001.
Todd, Margo. The Culture of Protestantism in Early Modern
Scotland. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2002.
BX 4840 .T63 2002 Fl. 2
Demos, John. Entertaining Satan: Witchcraft and the Culture of
Early New England. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Courtesans Venice
Rosenthal, Margaret F. "Veronica Franco's Terze Rime: The Venetian Courtesan's Defense." Renaissance Quarterly 42, no. 2 (1989): 227-57.
By Time Period
Journal of Early Modern History
By Geography
German History (2008-present; Oxford UP)
German History (1998-12 months ago; Academic SP)
The Scottish Historical Review
Religious History
The Journal of Ecclesiastical History
Sample results
Craker, Wendel D. "Spectral Evidence, Non-Spectral Acts of Witchcraft, and Confession at Salem in 1692."
The Historical Journal 40, no. 2 (1997): 331-58.
Henderson, Lizanne. “The Survival of Witchcraft Prosecutions and Witch Belief in South-West Scotland.”
Scottish Historical Review 85,1, no. 219 (2006): 52–74.
Herzig, Tamar. "Bridging North and South: Inquisitorial Networks and Witchcraft Theory on the Eve of the Reformation."
Journal of Early Modern History 12, no. 5 (2008): 361-82.
Kounine, Laura. “The Gendering of Witchcraft: Defence Strategies of Men and Women in German Witchcraft Trials.”
German History 31, no. 3 (2013): 295–317.
Rivett, Sarah. "Our Salem, Our Selves." The William and Mary Quarterly, Third Series, 65, no. 3 (2008): 495-502.
Warnicke, Retha M. "The Fall of Anne Boleyn Revisited." The English Historical Review 108, no. 428 (1993): 653-65.
Tempel Anneke
Morton, Peter A., ed. The Trial of Tempel Anneke : Records of a Witchcraft Trial in Brunswick,
Germany, 1663. 2nd ed. trans. Barbara Dähms. University of Toronto Press, 2017.
KK270.7.R65 T75 2017 Fl. 2
Templars/Alice Kyteler
Callan, Maeve Brigid. The Templars, the Witch, and the Wild
Irish : Vengeance and Heresy in Medieval Ireland.
Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2015.
Catherine Monvoisin
Hilton, Lisa. Athénaïs: The Life of Louis XIV's Mistress, the
Real Queen of France. Boston: Little, Brown, 2002.
DC 130 .M78 H57 2002 Fl. 2
Mossiker, Frances. The Affair of the Poisons: Louis XIV,
Madame De Montespan, and One of History's Great
Unsolved Mysteries. New York: Knopf, 1969.
DC 126 .M66 Fl. 2 (La Voisin, Madame de Montespan)
James I/VI
Borman, Tracy. Witches : James I and the English Witch
Hunts. London: Vintage Books, 2014.
Veronica Franco
Ruggiero, Guido. Binding Passions: Tales of Magic, Marriage, and Power at the End of the Renaissance.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
[P] Franco, Veronica. Poems and Selected Letters. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1999.
Early English Books Online (University of Michigan Text Creation Partnership)
Example: La Voisin (Catherine Monvoisin)
Sample result:
Watt, Jeffrey R. “Calvin’s Geneva Confronts Magic and Witchcraft: The Evidence from the Consistory.”
Journal of Early Modern History 17, no. 3 (2013): 215–44.
General
Levack, Brian P. Witchcraft Sourcebook. 2nd ed. Taylor and
Francis, 2015.
Witchcraft Collection. Cornell University Library Division of Rare
and Manuscript Collections. http://ebooks.library.cornell.edu
/w/witch/browse_author_un.htm (searchable, citations only)
Kors, Alan Charles, and Edward M Peters. Witchcraft in Europe,
1100-1700 : A Documentary History. Philadelphia: University of
Pennsylvania Press, 1989. BF1566 .K67 1989 Fl. 2
Maxwell-Stuart, P. G. The Occult in Early Modern Europe : A
Documentary History. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999.
BF1429 .O27 1999 Fl. 2
France/Basque
Boguet, Henri. An Examen of Witches. Trans. by E. Allen Ashwin. Ed.
by Montague Summers. London, 1929. Trans. of Discours des sorciers (1602).
Henningsen, Gustav. The Salazar Documents : Insquisitor Alonso De Salazar Frías and Others
on the Basque Witch Persecution. Leiden: Brill, 2004.
England/Scotland/Ireland
Early English Books Online (University of Michigan Text Creation Partnership)
A Guide to Grand Jury Men . . . in Cases of Witchcraft. London, 1630. (from University of Michigan)
Ledrede, Richard, et al. A Contemporary Narrative of the Proceedings against Dame Alice Kyteler,
Prosecuted for Sorcery In 1324. London: Camden Society, 1843. (In Latin)
Gibson, Marion. Early Modern Witches : Witchcraft Cases in Contemporary Writing.
Hoboken: Taylor & Francis, 2000.
Ewen, C. L'Estrange, and Great Britain. Courts. Witch Hunting and Witch Trials : The
Indictments for Witchcraft from . . . 1559-1736. London: Routledge, 2011.
Salem
Mather, Cotton. The Wonders of the Invisible World. Boston in New-England;
and Reprinted at London, for John Dunton, at the Raven and in the Poultry, 1693.
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive, © University of Virginia.
Trask, Richard B. The Devil Hath Been Raised : A Documentary History of the Salem Village
Witchcraft Outbreak of March 1692 . . . Newly Located and Gathered Witchcraft Documents.
Rev. ed. Danvers, Mass.: Yeoman Press, 1997. BF1576 .T73 1997 Fl. 2
Germany
Spee, Friedrich Von, and Marcus Hellyer. Cautio Criminalis, or, a Book on Witch Trials.
Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2003.
Witchcraft Italy
Malleus maleficarum