LibGuides: Friends of the Library: Publications and Newsletter Archives

Bookends

Bookends is the newsletter for the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library. It is published two to three times a year for all members. The Archive of Bookends is listed below.

Bookend Archives

Contact Us

By Facebook page for the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library:

https://www.facebook.com/shcfriendsofthelibrary

By Facebook page for the Book Nook at Spring Hill College:

https://www.facebook.com/BookNookatspringhillcollegelibrary

By Email:

libraryfriends@shc.edu

By Phone:

251-380-2245

For Your Reading Pleasure

History of the Spring Hill College Campus: A Pelican's Eye View by Charles J. Boyle, Archivist

This booklet is intended to be a brief history, largely photographic, of the development of the Spring Hill College campus. The back of this booklet is a bonus - a timeline of Spring Hill College events from 1830 to 1997.

Gleanings From the Spring Hill College Archives by Charles J. Boyle

During his years as Spring Hill College's Archivist, Dr. Charles Boyle wrote numerous essays for alumni and campus publications, all appearing under the heading, “From the Archives.” Gleanings is a compilation of these short, insightful, pieces. This book is intended as a companion piece to Twice Remembered, which was published in 1993. Gleanings is a collection of essays and speeches of the author's own making, works that originated from his years of employment as Spring Hill College's archivist. The idea for the book sprang from several short articles titled "From the Archives" appeared in alumni and on-campus publications and were well received.

Sound Mind, Sound Body, A History of Sports at Spring Hill College by Charles J. Boyle, Patrick McGraw

A look at the role athletics played during the course of the College's history, the information was collected from newspaper articles, magazines, and yearbooks. From baseball to tennis, and collegiate to intramural teams, the books present a window into the sports archives at Spring Hill College. The book is available for $15 from the Book Nook, the Circulation Desk, and various gift shops throughout Mobile.

Twice Remembered: Moments in the History of Spring Hill College by Charles J. Boyle, Editor

Call Number: LD5171 .S42 T9 1993

The book reflects on the history of Spring Hill College from its first uncertain years after its founding in 1830, to its 100-year anniversary in 1930. The editor, a former English professor at Spring Hill College, has collected a number of stories and anecdotes featuring Jesuits, laypeople and students who shared humor, hardship, and courage. This book will transport the reader into a time almost forgotten, but worth remembering.