Welcome to the Integration research guide! Here you will find resources on Integration and the Civil Rights Movement primarily regarding Spring Hill College, both within Burke Memorial Library and beyond! Within the guide, there are details and resources about Brown v. Board of Education, Integration and the first African American students at Spring Hill College, and Fr. Albert Foley, S.J.
This guide includes letters, photos, and reports regarding Spring Hill's integration from the Spring Hill College Archives.
Brown V. Board of Education by 
Race, Law, and Culture: Reflections on Brown v. Board of Education by 
Dismantling Desegregation by 
Brown v. Board of Education : a Civil Rights Milestone and Its Troubled Legacy by Laura Williamson is a Spring Hill College History student of the Class of 2022. She created this research guide as an intern through the History department and Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections as an effort to showcase the unique relationship Spring Hill College has with the Civil Rights Movement as the first desegregated college in Alabama and one of the first in the Deep South.
If you have any questions regarding the guide or their research, contact her at laura.m.williamson@email.shc.edu, or contact Burke Memorial Library directly at this link:
Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections
Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections
Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections
Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections
Photo Courtesy of Spring Hill College Archives and Special Collections
