LibGuides: Theology: Liberation Theology

"Be merciful as your heavenly Father is merciful" Luke 6:36

Clodovis Boff
Leonardo Boff
Ernesto Cardinal
Enrique Dussel
Paulo Freire
Gustavo Gutiérrez (see "Writings" tab")
Medellín Conference (English language results only)
Oscar Romero (see "Writings" tab")
Juan Louis Segundo (see "Writings" tab")
Jon Sobrino (see "Writings" tab")

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
ATLA covers theology, philosophy, and ethics; world religions and religious studies; pastoral ministry, missions, ecumenical studies, church history; scriptures; culture and society; as well as archaeology and antiquities. ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. Citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. This database also contains the content of the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, which is no longer a stand-alone database.

ATLA Religion Index

Base ecclesial communities

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (now part of ATLA)
(citations from 1980s-present)

Sample:

"Who Should Own the Well? Paulo Freire's Dangerous Education." National Catholic Reporter 20, (December 1983): 16-17.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (Print--citations 1967-1980)
BX 801.C37 OLDREFERENCE (Lower level)

Catholic Periodicals and Literature Index
The ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index was merged and absorbed into the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials database in June 2018. Please see the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials for access.

ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index provides journals, essays, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Content within is indexed from 1981 - present.

John Milbank
John Paul II

Kirk, John. "John Paul II and the Exorcism of Liberation Theology." Bulletin of Latin American Research 4, no. 1 (1985): 33-47.

Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger. "Instruction on Certain Aspects of the 'Theology of Liberation.' " Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, 1984.