Skip to Main Content

Theology

A guide to finding resources in theology. Guides to specific resources and strategies for individual classes. Taking class online? Limit database searches to "full-text" and Library catalog searches to "Ebooks."

Pauline Writings

Major Sets

Brown, Raymond E., et al. The New Jerome Biblical Commentary. Englewood Cliffs, N.J: Prentice-Hall, 1990.  BS491.2 .N485 1990

The Anchor Bible. Garden City, N.Y: Doubleday, 1964-1994.
BS 192.2 .A1 vols. 32-35 Reference Fl.1

The New Interpreter's Bible. Nashville:Abingdon Press, 1994.
BS491.2 .N484 1994 vols. 1-12 Reference Fl.1

Off-campus? Search the Catalog then click box for EBook

St. Paul and Pauline Theology 
Subject: Paul, the Apostle, Saint

Koester, Helmut. Paul & His World: Interpreting the New Testament in Its Context. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2007. BS2506.3 .K64 2007

Pauline Epistles (inclusive) 
Subject: Epistles of Paul

Subject: Epistles of Paul Criticism, Interpretation

Malina, Bruce J, and John J. Pilch. Social science Commentary on the Letters of Paul. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2006. BS2650.53 .M35 2006

Specific Epistles

Subjects:

Galatians

Ephesians

Corinthians

Thessalonians

Romans

Pastoral Epistles

   Suggested Sources   

    Freedman, David N. The Anchor Bible Dictionary. (arranged by English words) New York: Doubleday, 1992.
    BS440 .A54 1992 vols. 1-6 Fl. 1 Reference 

Kittel, Gerhard et al. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament.
(arranged by Greek words) Grand Rapids, Mich: Eerdmans, 1964.
BS2312 .K5 vols. 1-10 Fl. 1 Reference

Suggested Sources

Hawthorne, Gerald F, et al. Dictionary of Paul and His Letters.
Downers Grove, Ill. : InterVarsity Press, 2003. 
BS2650.2 .D53 1993

Dunn, James D. G. The Cambridge Companion to St. Paul.
Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
BS2650.52 .C36 2003

Evans, Craig A, and Stanley E. Porter. Dictionary of New Testament Background. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press, 2000. 
BS2312 .D53 2000

Ferguson, Everett. Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. New York:
Garland, 1990. BR 162.2 .E53 1990

Michael Grant and Rachel Kitzinger. Civilization of the Ancient
Mediterranean: Greece  and Rome
.  New York: Scribner's, 1988. 
DE 59 .C55 1988 vols. 1-3

    Off-campus? Search the Catalog then click box for EBook

    Marriage, Women, Men

    Baumert, Norbert. Woman and Man in Paul: Overcoming a
      Misunderstanding.
Collegeville, Minn. : Liturgical Press, 1996. 
      BS2655 .S49 B3813 1996

    Search the full online catalog 

    Marriage -- Biblical teaching
    Sex role -- Biblical teaching

Keener, Craig S. Paul, Women & Wives : Marriage and Women's Ministry in the Letters of Paul.
Peabody, Mass. : Hendrickson, 1995. BS2655 .W5 K44 1992 

Kraemer, Ross Shepard. Women & Christian Origins. New York : Oxford University Press, 1999.
BR195 .W6 W63 1999

Reading real women through the undisputed letters of Paul.
Rereading Paul : early interpreters of Paul on women and gender.
Women's lives in the ancient Mediterranean
.

Search the full online catalog  Women in Christianity -- History -- Early church, ca. 30-600

Eucharist/Lord's Supper

LaVerdiere, Eugene. The Eucharist in the New Testament and the Early Church.
Collegeville, Minn: Liturgical Press, 1996. BV823 .L33 1996 

Search the full online catalog  Lord's Supper  History  Early Church, ca. 30-600

Feminist Criticism

Levine, Amy-Jill. Feminist Companion to the Deutero-Pauline Writings. New York :
Continuum, 2003.  BS2655.52 .F46 2003

Search the full online catalog  Bible. N.T Epistles of Paul--Feminist criticism

Suggested Sources

Kelly, Joseph F. The World of the Early Christians. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2017.  BR165 .K44 1997

Search the full online catalog (off-campus? Click EBook)

Christian sociology History Early church, 30-600

Social Context

Malina, Bruce J, and John J. Pilch. Social Science Commentary on the Letters of Paul. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2006. BS2650.53 .M35 2006

Friesen, Steven J, Daniel N. Schowalter, and James C. Walters. Corinth in Context: Comparative Studies on Religion and Society. Leiden: Brill, 2010.

Meeks, Wayne A. The First Urban Christians : the Social World of the Apostle Paul. Haven : Yale University Press, 1983. BR166 .M44 1983

Theissen, Gerd. The Social Setting of Pauline Christianity: Essays on Corinth. Philadelphia : Fortress Press, 1988. BS2675.2 .T4313 1989

Off-campus? Search the Catalog then click box for EBook

Corinth          

Wire, Antoinette Clark. The Corinthian Women Prophets: a Reconstruction through Paul's Rhetoric.
Minneapolis : Fortress Press, 1990.  BS2655.W5 W57 1990

Ephesus

Murphy-O'Connor, J. St. Paul's Ephesus: Texts and Archaeology.
Collegeville, Minn: Liturgical Press, 2008. BR 185 .M87 2008

Antioch

Slee, Michelle. The Church in Antioch in the First Century CE: Communion and Conflict.
JSNT supp. 244. London: Sheffield Academic Press, 2003.

    Use These Patterns:

    Paul, Saint, Apostle --Theology --Sacraments--Baptism

    Paul, Saint, Apostle -- Theology -- Lord's Supper

    --Missions
    --Circumcision
    --Faith
   
--Preaching
    --Justification
    --Law
    --Holy Spirit
    --Christology
    --Ethics
    --Church
    --Women
    --Sin
    --Soteriology
    --Sanctification
 

 
Jump to the ATLA Religion Database

Use these patterns for Scriptural citations:

SC "Galatians 4"

SC "Romans 3"

SC "Corinthians, 1st 11:23"

 

Jump to the  ATLA Religion Database