Spring Hill College Undergraduate Research Symposium (SCHURS)
Spring Hill College Undergraduate Research Symposium (SHCURS)
Friday, April 20, 2012
3:45-5:30pm
The Friends of the Library will sponsor two Charles Boyle Research Awards for student projects of exceptional quality:
1) Special Collections – $250: Awarded to research that demonstrates substantive utilization of the Burke Memorial Library’s special collections including Archives and federal depository materials, and
2) Print & Digital Collections – $250: Awarded to research that demonstrates substantive utilization of the Burke Memorial Library’s print or digital collections.
In addition to the Charles Boyle Friends of the Library Awards, there will be two Excellence in Presentation Awards.
2012 SHC Undergrad Research Symposium Application Deadline to submit applications will be April 6, 2012
To prepare students for the symposium, we will be offering the following workshops:
SHC Undergraduate Research Symposium Information Session with Dr. Franco-Zamudio and Gentry Holbert
Friday, March 16, 2012 from 12-1pm in QH301
Abstract/Project Description Writing Workshop with Dr. Piafsky and Dr. Ruiz-Limon
Tuesday, March 20, 2012 from 4-5pm in QH301
Presentation Techniques Workshop with Dr. Dorton, Dr. Reed, and Dr. Ruiz-Limon
Tuesday, April 10, 2012 from 4-5pm in QH301
Spring Hill College Undergraduate Research Symposium (SHCURS)
Students will be presenting projects across many disciplines during the 2012 Spring Hill College Undergraduate Research Symposium (SHCURS). The SHCURS provides students with the opportunity to present their research, internship and classroom projects to a larger audience. The symposium also provides a space for students, faculty, and the community to examine the connection between research and education. Student attendees who are not yet involved in research will discover that attending the symposium is a great way to learn about the broad range of opportunities available at the Spring Hill College. Attendees are welcome to stop by the Student Center in the LeBlanc Ballroom any time during the symposium on April 20, 2012. The event is open to the public. Light refreshments will be served.
For more information, please contact Jamie Franco-Zamudio at jfrancozamudio@shc.edu or Gentry Holbert at gholbert@shc.edu.
Event coordinators, Jamie Franco-Zamudio and Gentry Holbert, would like to thank the following individuals for donating their time and expertise in order to make this event possible: Stuart Babington, Sara Boccardo, Gwen Brightbill, Sharee Broussard, Anna Burton, Amanda Collins, Don Culberson, Elizabeth Dexter-Wilson, Harold Dorton, Linda Grizzle, Lisa Hager, Bret Heim, Ramona Hill, Terren Mathers, Margaret Massey, Tracey Parman, Margarita Perez, Michael Piafsky, Kendra Reed, Estevan Ruiz-Limon, Pamela Shuggi, Carolyn Simmons, Royce Simpson, George Sims, Meg Smith, Dodie Ward, Richard Weaver, and Sharon Williams. Special thanks to the Psychology Department, the Friends of the Library, and the Office of Student Affairs.
Burke News
Find What You Need
New at Burke
Subject Research Guides
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2012
This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
- Last Updated Oct 5, 2011
Scholars use style guidelines to properly credit sources used in their writings and to build credibility. Proper use of style formats can also protect students from accusations of plagiarism or unintended copyright infringement.
- Last Updated Aug 31, 2010
This is a guide to Communication Arts materials at Burke Memorial Library.
- Last Updated Aug 31, 2010
A guide to research in the field of computer information science.
- Last Updated Sep 7, 2011
Information about U.S. Copyright Law with links to authoritative resources
- Last Updated Jul 6, 2011
This is a guide to Fine Arts materials at Burke Memorial Library.
- Last Updated Nov 16, 2011
Take a trip around the world...explore daily papers in foreign languages, surf the local library catalog for literature, movies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. Discover resources here for a personal tour of countries and cultures
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
Contacts and other helpful information for the Spring Hill College Help Desk
- Last Updated Jul 13, 2011
Get a preview of the exciting features and options available with Burke Library's New Catalog...set to open soon!
- Last Updated Sep 15, 2011
This guide is designed to acquaint students in POL courses and majors in Political Science with basic information resources, concepts and research strategies used by professionals in the field.
- Last Updated Dec 2, 2011
Want a good read, but need some guidance or inspiration? Check out this NEW LibGuide for seasonal literature, peer reviews, and a history of the holidays and events that influenced them
- Last Updated Jan 6, 2012
Instructional Resources Center (IRC) website with course guides supporting the Division of Teacher Education curriculum.
- Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
A guide to finding resources in theology and guides to specific resources and strategies for individual classes
- Last Updated Jan 31, 2012
Customized guides to research for specific HIS courses
- Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Customized guides to research for specific courses in Western civilization and European history
Try Our Mobile Links
Quick Links
- *New* E-book collection
Download our ebooks and audiobooks onto your digital devices! - Moodle at SHC
- Electronic ResourcesSubscribed and Open Source Resources for all your research and reference needs.




Loading...


Loading...
