This is the "Home" page of the "Friends of the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
About Library Hours Contacts College Home Reserve a Room SHC eCompanion

Friends of the Library   Tags: friends_of_the_library  

Last Updated: May 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.shc.edu/friendsofthelibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

At the Library...

  • Wednesday, May 1, 2013: Conversation with Carolyn Haines
      Info
    Join the Friends of the Library as they welcome local author, Carolyn Haines, who has recently published “The Darkling” under the pseudonym of R.B. Chesterton. This sharp and edgy gothic novel is set in 1974 Coden, Alabama. A young Californian family
  • Thursday, May 9, 2013: Friend of the Library Annual Dinner & Auction
    Join the Friends of the Spring Hill College Library for their annual Dinner and Silent Auction! This year's theme is 50 Years of James Bond!

    Cocktails at 6:30 PM
    Dinner at 7:30 PM

    Tickets are $50 per person
 

Our Mission

Our Mission

The Friends of the Spring Hill College Library is a volunteer group established to support and promote the Spring Hill College Library, Archives and Special Collections. The Friends raise and contribute funds through a variety of projects including the voluntary operation of the Book Nook used book store. The Friends encourage gifts and bequests of books and manuscripts to the Library and to the Archives and Special Collections and promote awareness of the Library and the college.

It is Easy to Join or Give to the Friends of the Spring Hill Library

Now is the perfect time to make a tax deductible gift or become a member of the Friends of the Spring Hill Library. 

Avoid the rush and make your qualifed tax deductions for 2012 now. Simply click on the appropriate link listed here or the tab at the top of the page.

In addition to memberships and monetary gifts, donations of your time and new or gently used books are always welcome at the Book Nook.

 

 

Memorials and Honorariums

In Memory and In Honor

The following gifts were recently received by the Friends of the SHC Library.

 
 Mr. Michael J. Behr
    in Memory of
Mrs. Grace L. Whitston

 

Mr. Michael J. Behr
in Memory of
Mrs. Patricia Kenny

 

Mr. Jerold J. Pace

Elizabeth LaGrave
 in Memory of
Margaret LaGrave

Mr. and Mrs. F. Joseph Costello

in Memory of
Dr. Charles J. Boyle
 
 Mr. and Mrs. F. Joseph Costello
in Memory of
Robert Zeitz
 
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Baur
in Memory of
Dr. Charles J. Boyle 
 
 
We appreciate their thoughtfulness and thank them for their continued support. 

 

 

Undergraduate Research Award Recipient

Abbey Roam received the Charles Boyle Friends of the Spring Hill College Library Undergraduate Research Award ’s for her paper entitled “What Page was I On? An Example of Book Navigation in the Vulgate of 1600”.  This year’s award was given to the best research that demonstrated substantive utilization of the Burke Library’s special collections.  She received a certificate and check for $250 from the Friends. 

Abbey wrote her paper on the newly discovered Slotkin Book Leaves Collection in the SHC Archives.  The Slotkin leaves are from rare biblical and antiquarian books (1496-1876) from works in several different languages and include the Koran, the Bible, Greek, Hebrew, other religious texts. Each original item is mounted on a sheet with a reproduction of the original book’s title page and a short description of the work that it came from.

Abbey’s award was given by Father Salmi at Honors Convocation on April 19, 2013.

 

Can You Identify This?

 

In the June 2012 issue of our electronic newsletter, Bookends, we asked our friends and alumni if they were able to identify the object pictured here.  Among the clues offered, was that the object was the property of one of the present board members of the Friends of the Library.

In fact, this is a freshman beanie that was worn by Dr. John Hafner, Professor Emeritus, during his freshman year at Spring Hill College.   Unfortunately, we don't have any pictures.

We had just a few entries in the contest, and while Phillip A. Brady of Fairhope, AL correctly identified the object he didn't  guess the owner.  He was awarded with a Spring Hill College flash drive.

Homecoming and a Special Remembrance in honor of Dr. Charles Boyle

 

 

Dr. Boyle's wife, Roberta, poses with the artist, Ms. Stephanie Morris (at left) during the Homecoming dedication.

Ms. Stephanie Morris, Mrs. Roberta Boyle, and incoming FOL President, Dr. Hafner.

This year's homecoming was truly a special occasion as we honored the memory of Dr. Charles Boyle, beloved educator, archivist and friend with a specially commissioned portrait.  Dr. Boyle's family and friends were on hand for the unveiling on April 21, 2012 in the Barter Room at Burke Library.

Next time you are in the library, be sure to visit the archives for a personal viewing.

For more information about Dr. Boyle, simply click on the link below.

 

Spring Hill College Undergraduate Research Symposium (SHCURS)

Announcing Winners of the Spring Hill College Undergraduate Research Symposium (SHCURS)

Congratulations to the Charles Boyle Undergraduate Research Award Recipient:

Megan Zeringue

The Friends of the Library were pleased to sponsor two Charles Boyle Research Awards for student projects of exceptional quality. The Special Collections award is designated for research that demonstrates substantive utilization of the Burke Memorial Library’s special collections including Archives and federal depository materials. and  the Print & Digital Collections Prize is awarded for research that demonstrates substantive utilization of the Burke Memorial Library’s print or digital collections.

In addition to the Charles Boyle Friends of the Library Awards, there were also two Excellence in Presentation awards.

We extend congratulations to Excellence in Presentation Award Recipients: Caitlin Murphy and Victoria Gonzalez, and Excellence in Presentation Award Honorable Mentions: Catharina Palmer and Caroline Wilson

The SHCURS provides students with the opportunity to present their research, internship and classroom projects to a larger audience. The symposium also provides a space for students, faculty, and the community to examine the connection between research and education.   Event coordinators, Jamie Franco-Zamudio and Gentry Holbert, would like to thank the following individuals for donating their time and expertise in order to make this event possible: Stuart Babington, Sara Boccardo, Gwen Brightbill, Sharee Broussard, Anna Burton, Amanda Collins, Don Culberson, Elizabeth Dexter-Wilson, Harold Dorton, Linda Grizzle, Lisa Hager, Bret Heim, Ramona Hill, Terren Mathers, Margaret Massey, Tracey Parman, Margarita Perez, Michael Piafsky, Kendra Reed, Estevan Ruiz-Limon, Pamela Shuggi, Carolyn Simmons, Royce Simpson, George Sims, Meg Smith, Dodie Ward, Richard Weaver, and Sharon Williams.  Special thanks to the Psychology Department, the Friends of the Library, and the Office of Student Affairs.

 
 

Twice Remembered

Available Again!

Twice Remembered: Moments in the History of Spring Hill College - Charles J. Boyle, Editor
Call Number: LD5171 .S42 T9 1993
The book reflects on the history of Spring Hill College from its first uncertain years after its founding in 1830, to its 100-year anniversary in 1930. The editor, a former English professor at Spring Hill College, has collected a number of stories and anecdotes featuring Jesuits, laypeople and students who shared humor, hardship, and courage. This book will transport the reader into a time almost forgotten, but worth remembering.

 

For Your Reading Pleasure

Sound Mind, Sound Body, A History of Sports at Spring Hill College - Charles J. Boyle, Patrick McGraw
A look at the role athletics played during the course of the College's history, the information was collected from newspaper articles, magazines, and yearbooks. From baseball to tennis, and collegiate to intramural teams, the books present a window into the sports archives at Spring Hill College. The book is available for $15 from the Book Nook, the Circulation Desk, and various gift shops throughout Mobile.

 

Contact Us

We welcome your comments or questions about the Friends of the Library and encourage you to become a member.  For more information, please e-mail us here.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip