History of Racism in the United States
Civil Rights Reference
[R] The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. 3 vols.
E 185.61 .E544 1998 Fl. 1 Reference
[R] Smith, Jessie C, and Joseph M. Palmisano. Reference Library of Black America.
Gale, 2000. E 185 .R44 2000 vols. 1-5 Fl. 1 Reference
Quite useful for its timeline and connection of persons to events
[R] Crawford, Vicki L. Women in the Civil Rights Movement: Trailblazers and Torchbearers,
1941-1965. Indiana University Press, 1993. E 185.61 .W83 1993 Fl. 2
[R] Hine, Darlene Clark. Black Women in American History. Brooklyn, N.Y.:
Carlson Pub., 1990. 15 vols. (see esp. vol 8 index)
Reference E 185.86 .B543.
[R] Organizing Black America An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. Garland, 2001.
[R] The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture.
F 209 .N47 2006 Fl. 1 Reference
See especially v. 24. Race; v. 19. Violence
[R] American National Biography. Oxford University Press, 1999. CT 213 .A68 Fl.1 Reference
Southern States Online Reference
Mississippi Department of Archives and History Digital Collections
Alabama Department of Archives and History Encyclopedia of Alabama
Georgia Humanities Council The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Civil Rights Digital Library (University of Georgia)
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive (University of Southern Mississippi)
Civil Rights Archive (University of Mississippi)
Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina)
Freedom Archives (primary sources from SNCC, Black Panthers, Black Liberation, etc.)
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Change Digital Archive
Organizations
Southern Freedom Movement Documents 1951-1968
Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) CORE - Lator
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
The Student Voice and SNCC Internal Newsletters
Black Panther Party
The Civil Rights Movement in Nashville
Freedom Riders from Let Freedom Ring: Moments from the Civil Rights Movement, 1954–1965.
Freedom Riders: Threatened. Attacked. Jailed. (PBS)
Features firsthand accounts from the Riders themselves, state and federal
government officials, and journalists who witnessed the Rides.
[S] Recommended Scholarly Journals
Journal of African American Studies (continues J of African American Men)
Journal of African American History
[P/S] Recommended Magazines (Check the box "Search all issues")
The Crisis (W.E.B. DuBois)
[P] The Southern Courier (Weekly newspaper covering Civil Rights in the South
[P] Muhammad Speaks (Newspaper of the Nation of Islam)
[P] Search the Illinois Newspaper Project
Biographies of Individuals as well as civil rights efforts in particular places
[P] Interviews and Oral Histories
Click the blue links for sample sources
[P] Writings
Martin Luther King, Jr. Encyclopedia (online resource)
(Stanford University)
sample: Malcolm X. February 1965: The Final Speeches. Pathfinder, 1992. BP 223 .Z8 L5796 1992
sample: Cleaver, Eldridge. Soul on Ice. McGraw-Hill, 1967. E185.97 .C6
[S/P] Groups
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
sample: Carson, Clayborne. In Struggle: SNCC and the Black Awakening of the 1960s.
Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1995.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
Search also for: Black nationalism
Civil rights workers / activists
College Students and Civil Rights
Congress of Racial Equality (CORE) CORE - Lator
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) The Student Voice and SNCC Internal Newsletters
Black Panther Party
@Michigan State University Library Digital Collections
[R] The Ku Klux Klan: An Encyclopedia. Garland, 1991. HS2330.K63 N49 1991 Fl. 1 Reference
[S] Events 
Selma-Montgomery Rights March, 1965
[P] Albany Movement
Albany Movement (Civil Rights Digital Archive)
[P] Freedom Rides / Freedom Summer
Freedom Summer Papers (MS Department of Archives and History)
Freedom Riders’ Oral Histories (University of Mississippi)
[P] Memphis Sanitation Workers Strike
Resources from Civil Rights Digital Library
[S] College Integration
University of [name of school here] + [History]
U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division (site search)
Google Magazine Search (by Bret Heim and Lauren Jensen)
click "full view only," then "'magazines," lastly, enter your search term(s) in the search box
Sample: Selma March
[S] Search the Library online catalog
By Geography [see also "Start Here"]
Click the blue links for sample sources
[S] State + [Race relations]
subject: Alabama Race relations
subject: Indiana Race relations
Gaillard, Frye. Cradle of Freedom: Alabama and the Movement That Changed America. University of Alabama Press, 2004. E185.93 .A3 G35 2004 Fl. 2
Catlin, Robert A. Racial Politics and Urban Planning : Gary, Indiana, 1980-1989. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2015.
[S] Civil rights movements + [State]
subject: Civil rights movements Mississippi
[S] City + [Race relations]
subject: Birmingham Race relations
subject: Selma Race relations
subject: Chicago Race relations
Garrow, David J. Protest at Selma: Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Voting Rights
Act of 1965. New Haven, Conn: Yale University Press, 1978. JK1929.A2 G37 Fl. 2
McKersie, Robert B. A Decisive Decade : An Insider's View of the Chicago Civil Rights Movement
during the 1960s. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2013.
[S] County
subject: Lowndes County
subject: Neshoba County
[S] Social Conditions (sample searches)
subject: African-Americans Alabama
subject: African-Americans Illinois
subject: African-Americans and segregation
subject: Civil rights of African-Americans
subject: Civil Rights and Churches
University of [ ] + [History]
su:University of Georgia History
[S] College integration
su:College integration Mississippi
