Sample Process for Debate Prep and Research
Japanese Interment during WW II (Stanford History Project)
Click on "quick view"
Click the blue links for sample sources
Arguments
Decision to Use Atomic Bomb (click the link)
Sample Archival and Primary
Public Papers of the Presidents: Harry S. Truman.
(Burke Library has 1929-present) J 80 .A283 Fl. 2
Harry S. Truman Presidential Library
National Archives and Records Administration: Japan
Making of the Atomic Bomb
National Archives and Records Administration: Atomic Bomb
Manhattan Project Interactive History Project
U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of History and Heritage Resources
Documentary Film
Japanese War Crimes Murder under the Sun. New York, NY: Films Media
Group. History Education, 1996. http://fod.infobase.com/portalplaylists.aspx?wid=107442&xtid=43073
"Truman Justifies Atomic Bomb." In Hiroshima: Part 2. Films Media Group.
BBC, 2005. http://fod.infobase.com/portalplaylists.aspx?wid=107442&xtid=55150.
Click the blue links for sample sources
Arguments
Subject: Vietnam war Public opinion
Background and Overview
Kutler, Stanley I. Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War. New York:
Charles Scribner's Sons, 1996. DS 557.7 .E53 1998 Fl. 1 vols. 1-3
Tucker, Spencer. The Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political,
Social, and Military History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011.
Brune, Lester H. America and the Indochina Wars, 1945-1990: A Bibliographical
Guide. Claremont, CA: Regina Books, 1992. DS 550 .B89 1992 Fl. 1
Presidents and Vietnam
Public Papers of the Presidents.
(Burke Library has 1929-present) J 80 .A283 Fl. 2
Sample Personal Narratives
Personal Narratives: Vietnam War
Documentary Film
The Ghosts of My Lai. Java Films, 2008. Accessed August 26, 2016.
http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=107442&xtid=40352.
Click the blue links for sample sources
Subject: Iraq War Public opinion
Operation Iraqi Freedom
Iraq war (click the link)
Arguments
Cushman, Thomas. A Matter of Principle; Humanitarian Arguments for War in Iraq. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 2005.
Hybel, Alex Roberto, and Justin Matthew Kaufman. The Bush Administrations and Saddam Hussein: Deciding on Conflict. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
See, for example:
Blix, Hans. Disarming Iraq. New York: Pantheon Books, 2004.
Subject: Weapons of mass destruction - Iraq
Sample Archives
Click the blue links for sample sources
Generals, Military Leaders
Garraty, John A., and Mark C. Carnes. American National Biography.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. CT213 .A68 Fl.1
Search tip #1:
for battles and campaigns, use the name of the battle or campaign
Bunker Hill Chickamauga Saratoga campaign
Search tip #2:
for military figures, also use the name of the battle or campaign
American Revolution
Blanco, Richard L., and Paul J. Sanborn. The American Revolution, 1775-1783:
An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1993. E208 .A433 Fl.1
Archival and Primary Sources
Founders Online (National Archives and Records Administration)
Searchable by author, recipient, and time period
The 18th Century (Avalon Project) Yale University
Images of the American Revolution
Images of the Revolutionary War (National Archives and Records Administration)
Selected images from the Library of Congress
Research Guide: American Revolution. Library of Congress
Guide to the American Revolution: External Websites (Library of Congress)
American Civil War
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History.
E468 .E53 2000 5 vols. Fl.1
The Civil War and Reconstruction: A Student Companion.
E468 .B319 2001 Fl.1
Civil War Primary Source Archival Database
Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction This collection covers politics, society
and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877. Publications include northern,
southern and border state newspapers; broadsides and other ephemera
Civil War Photographs
Mathew Brady Photographs of Civil War-Era Personalities and Scenes (searchable)
(National Archives and Records Administration, Record Group 111)
Sample
Moody, Wesley. Demon of the Lost Cause Sherman and Civil War History.
Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2011.
Gen. George H. Thomas (Battle of Chickamauga)
Click the blue links for sample sources
Search SHC Library for Specific Topics
Documentary Films
Find Documentary Films (Films on Demand)
Vital Speeches of the Day. New York: The City News Pub. Co, 1934-present. Essential!
Google Magazine Search (brought to you by Bret Heim and Lauren Jensen ©2016)
Click the content button--"magazines"
Search tip: use features that allow focus on argumentative sources:
• Document type=editorial (We've preconfigured this one. Type your terms in the box)
• Cover story (We've preconfigured this one, too!)
Google Magazine Search
(brought to you by Bret Heim and Lauren Jensen ©2016)
Life Magazine (Sept. 21, 1953-Dec. 29, 1972) Check th box that says "search all issues"
Rolling Stone Index: Twenty-five years of Popular Culture 1967-1991 AI 21 .R65 1993 REFERENCE (Fl. 1)
a fantastic source for the Vietnam War era
Click on a title to browse or search its content
Guide to Research with Primary Sources
How to Find Primary Sources (from the National Archives and Records Administration)
Military History, Records, etc.
National Archives and Records Administration: Military Records Collections
Military History Centers Online (SHC Library has most of their historic print publications)
Veteran's History Project
(personal accounts of American war veterans)
Declassified Documents
Digital National Security Archive
(George Washington University)
Historic Newspapers
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
(Library of Congress)
Sample Photographs
U.S. Army Center for Military History Photographs
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
(Library of Congress)
World Wars
Korean War
Vietnam War
Vietnam Center and Archive (Texas Tech)
Vietnam Project (NS Archive)
Iraq War (2003-2011)
Tucker, Spencer, and Jinwung Kim. Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History. ABC-CLIO, 2000.
DS918 .E53 2000 Vols 1-3. Reference
The Korean War
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. Washington, DC: National Archives
and Records Service, 1929 (Herbert Hoover) - present (Donald J. Trump)
J 80 .A283 Fl. 2
